We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Relax”

Knysna Houseboats - Day Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our newly refurbished Houseboats, previously operated by Lightleys Holiday Houseboats, exceed all South African Maritime Safety Authority operational and safety requirements. They are your floating home away from home. We have outfitted them to a high specification, so it is truly a comfortable experience.Our luxurious self-drive boats have everything you might need and are suitable for up to 4 adults or a family of 5.In order for you to effortlessly enjoy going onshore, our staff will be available between sunrise and sunset to park your boat at one of our moorings. You just approach the jetty and we’ll take it from there!For the true on-board holiday experience we provide our customers with an assorted catering menu, containing old time favourites such as delicious fresh oysters and champagne, beverages, picnic baskets, cold dishes and braai packs. We even offer room service on the lagoon, so there is no need for you to leave your boat!Being amidst some of the best restaurants the Garden Route has to offer, you can of course also cruise towards Thesen Harbour Town and go for breakfast, lunch or dinner in one of the area’s vibey eateries. Please enquire with our staff for more information and special offers. Our new charter base is located in sophisticated Thesen Islands Harbour Town, where our staff is available for you between 8:30 am and 5 pm.We offer all captains a short navigational course. Once you are fully informed and have a good understanding, we will provide you with a temporary skippers license. So don’t worry if you have never piloted a boat before, most of our customers haven’t either!From our charter base, we offer the following additional services and facilities: Pilots that help you feel at ease and park your boat; Bathrooms with shower cabins and vanity (Hair dryers are also provided in the showers for women); Covered terrace overlooking the estuary where you can relax and have a drink; Renting of fishing rods and towable tubes; Houseboat services that are carried out at a designated jetty and include the following: Fill up with fresh water Re-fuelling (if required) Cleaning and pumping of toilets Check motor cooling system and oil level Rubbish removal Re-supply LP Gas (if required).
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a great way to completely relax and switch off from the world. The boats are comfortable, well equiped and easy to use. I suggest taking a boardgame or something to pass the time by but nothing so intrusive as a laptop or cellphone! The shoreside facilities are kept at a high standard and the staff are friendly and welcoming. We will definitely do it again sometime

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Skedunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E, Reservations at Knysna Houseboats - Day Charters, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good Day

Thank you very much for taking your time to post this very insightful review, we greatly appreciate it.
Please visit our Facebook page from time to time to keep up to date with our latest offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you aboard with us again sometime soon!!

Warm regards
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    54
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you for the experience and brilliant service & hospitality. No complaints from corresponding before the trip via email to returning the boat to the dock
Boats are in perfect condition and equipped with everything you need.
Course for the skippers was informative of the river and simple enough to learn quickly.
Will definitely be back in the future with friends and for longer.

Helpful?
Thank Local_cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a fantastic break. Staff were friendly and helpful. The boat was well equipped, and everything worked perfectly.
I would like to suggest a fresh drying up cloth and washing up cloth , when one comes in for a top up.
Scrutiny of the prop at departure, should be explained far more thoroughly on arrival. Clients should be shown what you want to check, and be able to see all is in order for themselves before departure, so that any damage is clearly understood.
Fantastic experience non the less, and would love to be back....

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank MIchael786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E, Reservations at Knysna Houseboats - Day Charters, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Michael

We are glad you enjoyed your adventure aboard KnysnaHouseboats.

After your discussion directly with me upon your check-out we have purchased new dish and wash clothes to ensure we can change them more frequently during a stay - Thank you very much for this suggestion, as we strive to improve our guests experience with us daily.
We do apologise that the importance of the prop inspection was not explained to you more thoroughly upon check-in.

In the near future we hope be welcome you on board again!
Warm regards

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
“New to Knysna Lagoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great time on the Lagoon. Good clean workable boats. Great Skippers Course. Little gas braais on the back of the boats work like a dream. Just great fun.

Thanks

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Yaboet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to finish our family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent the last night of our family road trip on the House boat and what a treat! We were running late and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Everything was so clean, in good taste and well-organised. The kids were thrilled with the experience. We'll definitely be back!

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank arinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E, Reservations at Knysna Houseboats - Day Charters, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Arinda

We are very glad to hear your children enjoyed your short time spent with us.
I have dropped your husbands skippers license in the post yesterday afternoon so should arrive with you early next week, we hope he finds the perfect place to store this memory.

Hope to see you again in the near future!!
Warm regards

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knysna Houseboats - Day Charters also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Knysna Houseboats - Day Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing