We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, spacious rooms and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Ranked #7 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The lodge was the perfect choice for our honeymoon. The room and bathroom were both spacious with panoramic views across the lagoon and the best part was that each suite is private. You can relax in the spa bath or take a shower and enjoy the views in complete privacy. Breakfast (which we had in our room every morning) was made to order and was absolutely amazing!! This will definitely be our first choice in Knysna.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is a family run lodge where the owners and staff are really friendly. We stayed in room 7 with a great spa bath and a view overlooking the lagoon. Furnishings are superb. we had to leave early on our departure day before breakfast but the lodge kindly packed us a 'breakfast picnic'. It is a drive into town or around £5 each way by taxi. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkcat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Breakfast was included and it cannot be missed when reviewing this guesthouse. The breakfasts are something special and could feed you for the day!

The cabins out back have a wonderful view of the lagoon and although they are quiet they do overlook part of the highway, but not a big deal at all.

The rooms came equipped with a loyalty bar and free coffee, tea and this really tasty treats that one can dip into their tea. The rooms also had an ipod docking station with speakers and chargers which I found to be an unusual feature for South Africa.

I would come back here in an instant and I wish I had more days there in fact.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VancouverClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

stunning location ,gracious hospitality , nestled away ...simply stunning weekend ...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lumieretoujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here for a week for our Honymoon and Mandy and Ryan were absolutely wonderful! The place is beautiful, it's neat and well looked after and the food was incredible! It was money well spent and we will definitely try to be back as soon as we can! Thanks for a great time, keep up the great work! xx

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

What a place and what fantastic people and service, nothing is too much to ask. Will definitely be back next year for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolframFinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We loved our stay at Elephant Hide especially the baths with views over the lake, and the breakfasts the best weve had on our travels. It was very romantic and will be sure to go back.

Room Tip: Try and book a Lagoon Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mndengelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
652 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Alexander Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £103 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing