We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot with Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Ranked #7 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spend two nights here on our way down the Garden Route and regretted we could know have stayed for longer. The hospitality was excellent!

The Lodge is a little bit out of town but it is situated in a most beautiful location and the room we had overlooked the lagoon. The room was very spacious and there was a jet bath to let all the stress wash away. There was a real feel of being in a 'game lodge' but close to the sea! There was a pool but being 'winter' we didn't use it but it is set in a perfect spot overlooking everything.

The breakfast was amazing and to be highly recommended. Just make sure you are hungry as they provide a very good menu to select from.

It was one of the more expensive places we stayed on route but still it was good value for money for all that we experienced.

They also recommended an excellent restaurant in town called the Olive Tree - so if you stay in Knysna I would definitely head for there for what we found to be a top class meal!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gael-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Thanks so much for a wonderful stay at Elephant Hide!
We loved the room; it was so couzy from the decor to the underfloor heating!
The way the rooms are situated amongst the trees, overlooking the river - makes it’s such a majestic feeling.
{You actually feel like a character from Daleen Matthees - "Kringe in die bos"}

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ja-nien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

What a lovely stay we had on our family holiday. Lovely cabin with comfy bed (pity about the 2 single duvets). Jacuzzi bath with lovely view of outside. Great private deck overlooking the Knysna Lagoon, perfect for enjoying coffee and reading. Friendly and helpful staff made you feel at home. Lovely breakfast with stunning view.. Although weather was not hot and sunny, it was the perfect place for a getaway to relax and unwind. Lunch at the Knysna East Head Café a must do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique DT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three night and was greeted with a warm hospitable smile and a breath taking view of Knysna lagoon. We stayed in the Lagoon Suite, which was very cozy, clean and peaceful. The room had an awesome spa bath with a private view of the lagoon.
They also had amazing breakfast that was worth writing home about!
So in the words of Arnold...I'll be back!
Special thanks to Ellie for making our stay so awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoulBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Overall, my husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Elephant Hide. The view was gorgeous and I liked waking up to the Knysna Lagoon. Breakfast was also delicious It was a beautiful cabin with the view, bed, jet tub, and shower. The only concern we would have of Elephant Hide would be that the hot warm ran out quickly - both in the shower and in the jet tub which left my husband and I with a chilly feel.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank stephanopolis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spent a few days in Knysna recently and decided to stay at the Elephant Hide. It is just outside Knysna town (not walking distance) on top of a hill, but that provides the amazing view of Knysna Lagoon from the balcony, bed and tub. There is no better way to end a hectic day of sightseeing and trail walking than to lie back and let the jets unwind your body while you take in the sunset over the lagoon. And then wake up to it the next day and start again!

The room was beautifully decorated in an African style without being overdone and had all the little extras one would expect. Breakfast is served from a menu (good options) in the main lodge overlooking the rim flow pool (which was unfortunately too cold to swim in when we went!) and the lagoon. The staff are all very helpful and pleasant and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePugHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This was truly a lovely experience, a warm welcome , just feel so at home, lovely setting, great rooms and fantastic views. The breakfast the next morning was a great surprise. Well done, thank you we will be back soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddiePrinceAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
5.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.4 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
652 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Alexander Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £103 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing