We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to live on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We visited with our young sons and stayed in the family room, the boys were thrilled to find teddy's on their beds and we were thrilled with the stunning views of the lagoon. Very neat and tidy with a lovely public lounge area with huge fire for chilly evenings - fully stocked honesty bar, a great touch. Would like to come back and visit without kids to have more time to just sit and take in the surrounds but the kids were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank StFrancisLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a lovely place to go and probably the most romantic place you can take you're love one to. Private and secure with breath taking view. Stunning bathrooms and lovely spa bath, for sure a brilliant wedding or romantic present to give .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Thanks to the Elephant Hide for a lovely and memorable birthday weekend. From the moment we arrived until we said farewell we were welcomed with open arms. I definitely will be going back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Palani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I would like to start off by thanking Fish for his outstanding service, he was so helpful and made us feel at home right from the start (his wife was just as wonderful). We enjoyed the surroundings and especially the view from our room - it was spectacular. The bathroom was one of our favourite rooms as it was a joy to come back from a long day of sightseeing and just take a relaxing bath while still being able to look out onto the beautiful surroundings. We look forward to our next vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September. The best aspect was the view of the lagoon from the big glass windows. Breakfast was not included in our rate and we found the rate for breakfast at the lodge to be very high. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was serviced daily. Although a bit out of the central town everything is so close and a very short drive away (to the beaches, shops,restaurants and Thesens Island). We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Thank you for an excellent venue to spend our 27th anniversary of married life. What a great relaxation we had with splendid views of the lagoon. From the welcome to the checking out it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Burton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is overlooking the lagoon and has stunning views. The hotel is nice and private and absolutely wonderful. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable and they even arranged for a driver to come and fetch us to take us in to Knysna to have food so that we didn't have to take our own car, and were able to have a couple of drinks! The rooms are amazing, and the view from the bedroom and from the bathroom are stunning. The shower was great too! As for the breakfast, it was definitely the best breakfast of the whole holiday - really lovely, and you must try their Smoothies - Definitely the best ever! What a lovely place to stay on holiday. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Definitely a room overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
828 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#3 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
4.6 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 127 in Knysna
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £111 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing