We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel at home and pampered.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Ranked #6 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Feel at home and pampered.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The staff at Elephant Hide is extremely friendly and accommodating. We felt like royalty during our stay in their beautiful and very private cottages. It is close to all attractions, from the waterfront, the heads and all hiking routes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louis And Sunel... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    60
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
302
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We visited with our young sons and stayed in the family room, the boys were thrilled to find teddy's on their beds and we were thrilled with the stunning views of the lagoon. Very neat and tidy with a lovely public lounge area with huge fire for chilly evenings - fully stocked honesty bar, a great touch. Would like to come back and visit without kids to have more time to just sit and take in the surrounds but the kids were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank StFrancisLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a lovely place to go and probably the most romantic place you can take you're love one to. Private and secure with breath taking view. Stunning bathrooms and lovely spa bath, for sure a brilliant wedding or romantic present to give .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Thanks to the Elephant Hide for a lovely and memorable birthday weekend. From the moment we arrived until we said farewell we were welcomed with open arms. I definitely will be going back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Palani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I would like to start off by thanking Fish for his outstanding service, he was so helpful and made us feel at home right from the start (his wife was just as wonderful). We enjoyed the surroundings and especially the view from our room - it was spectacular. The bathroom was one of our favourite rooms as it was a joy to come back from a long day of sightseeing and just take a relaxing bath while still being able to look out onto the beautiful surroundings. We look forward to our next vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September. The best aspect was the view of the lagoon from the big glass windows. Breakfast was not included in our rate and we found the rate for breakfast at the lodge to be very high. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was serviced daily. Although a bit out of the central town everything is so close and a very short drive away (to the beaches, shops,restaurants and Thesens Island). We hope to be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uitenhage, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Thank you for an excellent venue to spend our 27th anniversary of married life. What a great relaxation we had with splendid views of the lagoon. From the welcome to the checking out it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Burton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.1 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Property: Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing