We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW!! AMAZING Tranquil Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Ranked #5 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We have a ritual which started yrs ago with my husband & I, by heading to Beautiful Knysna for the Oyster Festival Cycle Race which my husband participates in...now we go down as a family with our 2 boys & needed last minute accommodation & came across Gorgeous Elephant Hide Lodge up on the hills overlooking the Beautiful Knysna Lagoon...& what a Brilliant stay.
Units & Service Stunning. We were well received by the owner & made to feel right at home immediately.
The units are of a high standard which I commend the owners & staff on.
The view is breath-taking & surroundings, peaceful & serene. Hopefully we could visit again soon...or when the boys are older ;)
All the very best to Elephant Hide & Congrats on a Top Class Stylish Lodge.
Rgds, God Bless
Solomon family from Durbanville, Cape Town

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lucille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Friendly welcome by Ellie. Comfortable accommodation - good attention to detail. Good view from balcony and we enjoyed a beautiful sunset! Excellent choice of accommodation and a very good experience and will recommend to friends and will be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank esme1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The breakfast was as delicious as it was plentiful and we looked forward to it every morning. The staff were caring, approachable, knowledgeable of the area and most of all happy. Shout out to ma boi Fish. The bunnies in the car park were an elegant touch. We had the most amazing bed and bath and the views from our balcony were unforgettable. Everything a guest lodge should be and much much more.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Elephant Hyde is located away from the hussle and bussle of Knysna, surrounded by indeginous vegetation and overlooking the Knysna lagoon with beautiful views. Our room was very well designed with great attention to detail., good percale linen and a large flat screen TV. We loved the large jet bath and coming home to a warm bed, our electric blanket had been switched on while we were out, which was a treat. The breakfast was fresh, with delicious choices and stylish presentation. Ten out of ten for Elephant Hyde, Ryan, Mandy and their team. Thank you so much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spa bath overlooking the lake. Views from every room. Big shower. Real quality stuff. When we came back from the restaurant our electric blankets were switched on, so that the bed was warm when we got to the room. I mean that is just excellent thinking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank triptonsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Probably our third visit to Elephant Hide over the past 10 years - each time the stay has been excellent! We always have a lovely, spacious room with panoramic views over Knysna Lagoon. Great breakfast choices, excellent staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a perfect treat for a birthday celebration. The lodge is more than the website and any reviews give away- a wonderful surprise. Attentive and very friendly service. Sensational views from our lagoon facing room and wonderful attention to detail all round - TOP CLASS. Thank you for having us! We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CaseyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.2 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
823 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#3 of 127 in Knysna
324 reviews
4.0 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#14 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge

Address: Cherry Lane | Welbedacht, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £104 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge is situated on top of the Welbedacht Cliff Tops 3km from Knysna Town, the Lodge overlooks the Knysna Lagoon and the Outeniqua mountains. The theme of the Lodge is one based on natural beauty with stone and wood architecture combining to give that comfortable earth feel. This Knysna Accommodation has four suites with magical views of the Knysna lagoon from every corner of the room. The fifth and sixth suite while still enjoying lagoon views are embedded in indigenous “fynbos” surroundings attracting numerous bird species and giving that “hidden away” feeling. Enjoy a relaxing spa-bath while gazing into infinity. All the suites have double showers with views and are private.The lodge is a family run business that prides itself on personal service and ensuring an unforgettable experience for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hide Of Knysna Guest Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing