We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful time at the Graywood Hotel Knysna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Graywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graywood Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Cape Town
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful time at the Graywood Hotel Knysna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The rooms were clean and offered more than I expected for a 3 star hotel. Situated close to the Lagoon and Knysna Waterfront. The service from checking in to checking out was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. I will definitely return when in Knysna again. As an inbound tour operator in Cape Town, I will definitely promote this hotel to my foreign and local guests. Real value for money. I received 5 star treatment from the moment I entered the reception area and it continued throughout my stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms surround the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AladdinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    48
    43
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
75
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly, from the bar to the front desk. Breakfast was grand. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but rather at the nearby waterfront with a fine selection of seafood restaurants. Good shopping in Knysna. The John Benn cruise on the Lagoon is a nice break.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAllena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Perfect location,lovely staff,really nice place, so glad we stayed there!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mal2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Stayed at the Graywood for one night as a stop-over for our Garden Route drive. We stayed in an upstairs room which I found spacious (bigger than what we stayed in at Cape Town) and bathroom large. No issues with noise at night or early morning. Breakfast was the usual buffet with to order hot breakfast.

We had dinner at The Anchorage (walking distance from the Graywood). The seafood platter for one was divine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki70_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

We stayed at Graywood on our Garden route tour in SA. It was a one night stay and it was okay. we found the room was small and since it was on the ground floor, it had no view no window to the outside. There was always some noise and disturbance. A big group of people arrived at the hotel late that evening and they created quite a din.
Otherwise the hotel is fine, breakfast & service was okay.
Location is very convenient with the waterfront at walking distance and lot of interesting places round the corner. Anyway the place is fine for one night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloretravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We booked a 2 night stay through Flight Centre, UK about 7 weeks before travel. The hotel is on the corner of Gray Street, about three short blocks up from Knysna Quays.
Behind the Reception is a huge blown-up photo of British (GWR) steam engines on shed. The railway theme, mostly South African, persists throughout the hotel and grounds. The buildings form a two-storey square around a central garden and pool. Car parking is beneath the building on two sides of the square, with entrance from the side street. Most rooms are upstairs and all are wood-panelled. Rooms are a little smaller than average, although well appointed and with opening windows. A kettle and tea/coffee is provided. The breakfast room is immediately above Reception and there is also outside seating on the verandah by the pool. Breakfast is from a good cold buffet selection, with hot food cooked to order. Many restaurants, to suit all tastes and budgets, are within a couple of blocks walking distance and particularly in the Knysna Quays and Main Street areas.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Lots of wood going on here - and a train theme also. Rooms are on either ground or upper level and there is a pool and sunbathing area with trees/plants etc at the centre of the smallish complex. very easy to walk down to the waterside and also easy to walk to the main street which had the tourist info office - and lots of other restaurants etc

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyTriLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Property: Graywood Hotel
Address: Gray Street, | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing