We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely central location in picteresque Knysna!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Graywood Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely central location in picteresque Knysna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

You will not find a more central location from where to explore Knysna. It is within walking distance from the lovely waterfront and lots of little quaint shops. The hotel is built with log cabins and this gives a lovely ambiance. It is decorated with interesting railway memorable. The staff is fantastic in creating a comfortable stay and giving advise on what not to miss in the area. Breakfast on the deck over looking the swimming pool is a great way to start your day in Knysna!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    47
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
28
72
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Booked here for 1 night but extended for 1 extra night. Staff is very friendly, efficient and helpful. Has secured parking. Close to the waterfront 5min walk. Room service also available but closes at 9:30 pm. The rooms ate clean with new linen. Good no frills accommodation. Similar hotels at the waterfront will charge double price for the same service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Definitely not to be recommended. The hotel works mainly with tour groups and about two bus loads are arriving every day. This means that you will be woken up at early morning hours by people rattling their suitcases across the wooden floors. Shame because the hotel with its wooden construction is very pretty. Obviously this could have been avoided by not giving us a room directly next to the stairs where everybody goes past!! The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms seriously need renovation. Shower hardly working. Three stars?? No way! In addition the staff was very rude. They knew from the booking that we were on honeymoon. No special attention like some little decoration or attention in the room was made. When we hinted at it the receptionist just gave us a ridiculous laugh. The only person who really made up for all of this was the extremely friendly waiter at breakfast.
In summary: not to be repeated and clear feedback will be given to the honey moon organizer to avoid this hotel in the future. They are just not up to the standard of the other ones they are compared with.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yellowduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knysna hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
253 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

A very good 3 star hotel with friendly and efficient service. Comfortable rooms and real value for moeny. Breakfast could be a little bit better, as you got the sister hotel opposie. Group hotel, therefore it could be noisy at times. Position excellent for Waterfront

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
187 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 670 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Dirty, smelly, and the sofa even for small children really uncomfortable, pictures at the website looks much better. Good things: friendly staff an extraordinary look location, and free wi-fi. if you don't mind that looks and feel dirty, but if you travel with small children like us, I will not recomend

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Covadonga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We meant to stay for 1 night but ended up staying 3 nights. Friendly caring staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. Beautiful inside garden and great pool to sit and have a drink. The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to everything. See you next year!

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the pool has a king size bed and a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I travel the Garden Route often for Business and i always make my way to Graywood lodge. Neat, clean, well priced, great pool and breakfast excellent. Staff are excellent and always willing to help. Gardens are fantastiic and neat.
2 minute walk from the Lodge is a little pub/restaurant called Oldes. Great for a cold beer and a decent enought meal.

Only downside to the Lodge is the smaller rooms downstairs. The downstairs rooms seem to have a steam train theme about it and really is a bit small. The theme in the room makes it seem pretty dark inside. Not my favourite part of the lodge to sleep in.
I always try to get an upstairs room. These are much, much lighter and more modern. No Railway theme upstairs.

Other than that, the Graywood is a little Gem. Ive been visiting them for 4 years now and i'll keep going back. At Graywood you definetly getting great monies worth and i would reccomend it to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman11CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#16 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#13 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#14 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Property: Graywood Hotel
Address: Gray Street, | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing