We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good standard hotel”
Review of Graywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graywood Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
EastSussex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good standard hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Good hotel with nice breakfasts a bit of a walk to the waterfront with its amenities. Room 42 backs on to a tourist coach park which can be noisy first thing in the morning with coaches revving up getting ready to leave. Otherwise an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: room 42 backs onto tourist coach park which can be noisy first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hastingstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    49
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
78
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Graywood isn't your regular looking hotel, though it looks quite similar to the property opposite. However, our stay for 2 days at this property was quite good barring the food. The interiors are artistically done, rooms are quite spacious and new and the distance to the waterfront and the market is minimal. The only issue is the the availability of food, which typically has to be ordered from a nearby restaurant and it isn't too great. The breakfast served in the hotel is quite ok. However, the staff if friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballygally, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 days on our Garden Route experience.Our rooms were lovely,nice interior,very spacious and absolutely spotless with a bath and shower over it.Our rooms were on the main floor,i think the wooden interior ones are on the ground floor.
The breakfast is lovely,fruit,meats,cheeses,cereal and you order your eggs how you want,we had lovely omelettes.
there is a swimming pool at the hotel with complimentary beds and towels,we never used the pool but did spend a couple of hours relaxing by it.
The staff are lovely,very helpful and cheerful.
The only niggle we had was the hotel bar closes at 10pm,but you can get a couple of drinks before then if you fancy having a drink on the balcony before bed.
The hotel is in a great location,a straight 5 minute walk to the Marina
.In a previous review I mentioned 'The Anchorage' restaurant,this is a few doors down from the hotel and is a MUST visit,excellent.
Enjoy your stay,i know we will be back :-)

Room Tip: we had rooms 30 and 31.they are at the end away from the breakfast area and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdunc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

It is well located very close to the highway as well as the beach. It is modeled on the interior of an archaic train compartment. Has beautiful interiors and terrific staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and had a great time in Knysna. Excellent breakfast with a great spread. Clean rooms, great service and very cosy looking. Highly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The service at the Graywood was exceptional. My elderly in-laws are not as mobile as they used to be and all the staff went out of their way to make sure they enjoyed their visit. Nothing was too much trouble.

Excellent breakfast with great selection of very fresh food including many different fruit. In addition to what you can see on the buffet they will also cook you eggs any style while you wait. Service staff at breakfast are very friendly and by the second morning knew you and what you wanted.

Great location just 2 blocks from the quays. We've been coming here for 10 years and wouldn't stay anywhere else now. We've brought numerous guests and everyone has been very impressed.

Rooms are a little tired but service, location and breakfast still makes this a winner

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakkster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Well located with very friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble, but the common parts were dark and dingy, and fittings in the bedroom were tired and of poor quality.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of fresh fruit

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nice British style all wood building. The theme of the hotel os on Railways and the decor is all about railways. Nice calm place. Rooms are really small, just enough to walk with no extra space around.

Room Tip: Small rooms. Breakfast was good. Willing to help attitude of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NKR1013A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#25 of 30 in Knysna
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
#17 of 30 in Knysna
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
87 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#14 of 30 in Knysna
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graywood Hotel

Property: Graywood Hotel
Address: Gray Street, | PO Box 2044, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Graywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Graywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graywood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing