We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to unwind and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Myself and my girlfriend visited Tonquani for the week of the 16th of January 2012. If you're seeking a relaxing, tranquil, serene and romantic experience, look no further than Tonquani. The log-cabin style chalets were amazing, the decorations rustic and full of character - with all the modern amenities. Air-conditioning was amazing as it was 38 degrees celsius at the time of our arrival! We didn't make too much use of the jacuzzi bath as it was a little too warm for that - but I can imagine that in winter it would be absolutely sublime. But by far the most amazing part of our experience at Tonquani was the service received from all the staff. They are absolutely amazing (thanks especially to Ruth - wha a wonderful lady!), and would go out of their way to ensure that all your desires are met. On two mornings we ordered breakfast in bed and it was absolutely stunning - the omelettes are highly recommended! Outside the gardens are tranquil and beautiful. If you are a fan of birdlife I imagine this would be paradise. Set in the forest it sets the mood for a tranquil and serene holiday. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, or a break from the hustle and bustle of city life this is the place for you. Highly recommended!

Ziyaad Adams

Room Tip: Leatherleaf chalet is right by the pool - very handy! Aircon was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiyaadA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    54
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
216
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We've been with our two elder children at Tonquani Logde for 3 nights in the beginning of January 2012. It was definitely our best accomodation during our 2 week trip in South Africa. Very quiet, luxury and clean lodges, beautiful surrounding and very friendly staff. We really enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We are family with twins of 8 yrs old, booked in tonquani lodge through our travel agency as we planned to spend the Christmas in knysna, we were so charmed by the place, beautiful view from the chalet, flowers , greens , birds , was really peaceful and lovely experience. We enjoyed our private cute pool which was good enough to refresh in a hot summer day. our wooden chalet interior design was another charming aspect. one day before the Christmas we wanted to make BBQ they have done the shopping on our behalf on the day every thing was prepared and ready for us even they took care of lighting the BBQ. Even they have surprised us by placing a Christmas tree for the kids which was another great idea made us feel home . management as well as service was more than excellent interms of service as well as the friendliness, we wouldn't expect better than that . it is highly recommended for honeymooners as well as families.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nagla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Best sleep we have ever had in our life! Service out the top drawer, breakfast fantastic, an absolute recommendation for anyone looking for a top class break!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueSchafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I went to Knysna for a little spring break, only planning to stay for two nights. We had a lovely stay at Tonquani, which is so central that you are able to find all the attractions very conveniently. I had a fantastic full body hot stone massage - the spa therapist was amazing and the treatment was divine! On our last day I fell quite ill with gastro (it was going around and certainly had nothing to do with the lodge!) and we had to stay an extra night. The staff and management were extremely accommodating and helpful, cleaning the room around me and fluffing my pillows, as well as providing excellent room service. I would certainly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbellclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We took advantage of Tonquani's Winter Warmer Special and weren't expecting anything out of the ordinary but wow were we very pleasantly surprised!! We stayed in their flagship Loerie Chalet and I couldn't have asked for anything more! Heaters in every room, fire place in the lounge and a large spacious dual level bathroom. Tasty, full breakfast was brought up to our chalet every morning and arranged for the 2 of us while we lay snuggled up in our 4 poster bed.
The spa treatments were awesome - left us feeling pampered and completely relaxed. My only disappointment though was that I had a brow & lip wax and when I returned home I had to complete the neatening of my eyebrows and only one half of my upper lip was waxed. The massage & facial were great!
We'll definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My wife and I spend three nights at Tonquani Lodge and spa during our recent trip to down the Garden Route South Africa.
Initially I was a little dissapointed that the lodge was not nessled in the local yellow wood forest as I had hoped, however my wife really liked Tonquani lodge from the moment we arrived. We had a lovely lodge cabin with our own little lounge with a fire place, kitchen and a spacious bathroom fitted out with a large jacuzzi bath. The bed was amazingly warm and I had the bet 3 night sleep ever. Upon our return site seeing on the second evening we were surprised to find a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, strawberries and chocolates in our room.
Ever breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, coffee and warm breakfast to order.
We also received a complimentary massage for two on our last day and a picknick basket full of snacks for our long drive back to Cape Town.
I would highly recommend Tonquani Lodge, as it is close enough to Knysnaand all the other wonderful sights around the area, yet it is off the main road and a little out of town.
Double thumbs up form us.

Room Tip: The Tonquani lodge website is very good, with pictures of every room with full description, which ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.6 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
2.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Property: Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Address: 5 Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. On request all meals can be served in your unit. A light lunch menu is offered and complimentary tea and cake is served every afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing