We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tonquani is heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #19 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
George
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tonquani is heaven!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

From arrival to our departure, every moment was amazing! The staff, the management, the chalet, the breakfast, the pool, the slippers, the everything was more than expected. Special attention is given to every detail, the fresh flowers throughout the chalet, welcoming coffe on our private deck and a extra heater for the cold... Our 2 and a half year old is calling Tonquani her "wooden home" - it must be partly due to the way Tonquani incorporates the natural beauty and wildlife into the 5 star accomodation, it's heaven for both children and adults!

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uys F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    54
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
72
217
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were completely spoilt and made to feel welcome even before we arrived. Complete and utter relaxation in a tranquil forest setting with comfort and privacy high on the agenda. The chalets are warm, neat and well serviced. The attention to detail was really appreciated and the breakfast options e veritable treat catering for even the most fussy eaters.

A special thank you for spoiling the kids with a birthday breakfast! Its these little touches that will make us come back.......that and the truly amazing therapies at the spa.

Wow!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

From the moment we arrived we were amazed by the beauty of the lodge, the trees, birds were beautiful. We were fortunate enough to stay in the loerie cottage. The cottage was immaculately clean and all the flowers on the bed and towels was such a special touch. The staff is amazing, even when we called them to come remove a HUGE spider from our room!! The cottage is amazingly well equipped. The jaccuzi and walk in shower was awesome. The only thing I was sad about was leaving! The cottage was serviced daily and our breakfast in bed was delicious. I highly recommend Tonquani for a romantic getaway or honeymoon.

Room Tip: The Loerie has EVERYTHING. a/c, fireplace, fourposter bed, privacy, pool, braai, swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeliciaSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Shelley and her team at Tonquani Lodge provided excellet accommodation and courteous, friendly service. We enjoyed scrumptious breakfasts, stayed in a well equiped and comfortable chalet with all our needs catered for. The little extras, like the welcoming port on the very cold day we arrived, the fruit basket and chocolates in the bedroom were appreciated. There is absolutely nothing better than climbing into a hot Jacuzzi bath at the end of the day. The lodge is located in a beautiful forest area yet close enough to Knysna centre which makes it perfect for shopping, dining out and touring. We enjoyed the whole ambience of this establishment and hope to visit again in the future.
Pat & Vince H

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

What I experienced there is majestic! The service,the welcome, the staff...wow!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyqlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The only negative thing I can possibly say about our experience at Tonquani Lodge was that we were only able to stay or one night. Sheldeen, the owner, and her staff go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. The accommodation was fabulous. Clean, luxurious and extremely spacious. In fact it was so relaxing in the accommodation we would have loved an extra couple of days just to hang around in the bungalow, make use of our plunge pool etc. The food was fabulous and served in the room so no need for an early ash to make it down to the dining room in time for breakfast. I also had a facial in the spa which was so relaxing. The beautician was great and the products she used smelt and felt fabulous and there was no sense of rushing you through the treatments. The spa also even has one-way windows so you can enjoy the scenery whilst you relax without fear of people peering in. The location is also great, handy for Ksyna centre and some nice restaurants and Sheldeen will even arrange transport so you can enjoy a few glasses of wine when you go out. All in all we couldn't fault this place and really hope we get a chance to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassiebwfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights for our honeymoon and in those three nights we were delighted with the friendly and helpful staff, ready to assist you in any way they can! We were even greeted by the friendly animals!
The chalet was beautifully laid out with our own little gas fireplace and jacuzzi! And the breakfast buffet was most fulfilling and delicious!
I would definately recommend this place to any couple who wants to keep their honeymoon Proudly South African!
Thank you very much Tonguani!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
5.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
4.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.2 mi away
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
4.0 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#9 of 126 in Knysna
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Property: Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Address: Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing