We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #21 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed for a night in December 2012 and had a truly amazing experience. The lodge & gardens are beautiful. The spa & massages we had were excellent. The thing that set this place high up was the customer service. Brilliant, helpful & every staff member was so friendly. Wow, you don't often get that in SA! We will definitely be back sometime in the future & will make sure we stay longer than one night next time. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Spent my honeymoon at tonquani. the service was excellent everything was perfect! My wife couldn't be more happier. Would definately refer this place to anyone interested in a relaxing enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmeerNadirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Thank you to the staff and owners for always making us welcome - nothing is too much. Thank you also that kids are welcome and that our daughter had a lovely time at Tonquani. The excellent upkeep of the grounds and surrounding areas are great! You can be really proud and the SPA is heavenly - thank you for the treat!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

my wife and I stayed for 4 nights over christmas 2012. We had suite 12 which has its own little private garden. The staf as others have said are all very lovely (as are the owners) and nothing is too much trouble. They evenprovided us food and a braai pack for Christmas day - the best jumbo prawns and ostritch steak I have ever tasted!

Spa treatment was also nice. Only critisim would be the bathroom was looking a bit tired in places. Other than that we had a wonderful stay, thanks.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We had a great time at Tonquani. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and they attend to the smallest detail. Will definitely be back again :-) , and then we will stay in room that overlooks the swimming pool.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My stay at Tonquani Lodge and Spa was amazing! There is no better word. It is jaw droppingly beautiful, so peaceful, so quite and so wonderful. I was lucky enough to be there for about 10 days and each of them was perfect!
When we arrived we were put straight at ease, bought some tea & coffee and instantly we were relaxed after our 5 hour drive! We were given pamphlets on the surrounding areas, information of Knysna and then they booked a table for us for dinner.
Honestly, I cannot praise the staff enough! Nothing was too much trouble and you hear that phrase thrown around a lot but honestly, I left feeling like I’d made a group of friends. They were so wonderful, so helpful & so understanding. Even the members of staff that I didn’t see all that often were friendly, they remembered you and every day you were greeted with a smile!
We didn’t have a single problem during our stay!
The rooms are just divine! So large, airy and fantastically decorated! For those who want a cosy night in, there is a selection of dvd’s, the TV is good and our lodge had both an ac and a heater – just in case!
Knysna as a location is just fantastic because it is so close to places! You can go and be a tourist or even be a local (or act it in my case) because there is so much to do in the surrounding areas! There is an endless list of possibilities of what you can do. I personally went for a walk with a cheetah, did some surfing, went whale/dolphin/seal watching, went to a wolf sanctuary (and fell in love with a pigmy goat!), went to museums, shopped, ate at a lot of restaurants with a lot of gorgeous food, bungee jumped and genuinely had the time of my life!
The spa is obviously a must, Geraldine is just magical! If I could have had it my way I would’ve been in there every day!
In all honesty, Tonquani Lodge and Spa made our trip! Thank you guys so much! I miss you all already!
Ps - The breakfasts are amazing! I recommend the French toast and don’t forget the bacon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou-la-Belle-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have had a wonderful time at Tonquani Lodge. Everybody was so kindly and helpful.
The Tonquani Lodge is a location like paradise, situated in a wonderful garden, quiet rooms with all you need. We wanted to stay for three nights, but we left after six nights. A great amizing time. We hope, we'll come back to South Africa with our friends or our children. Then we'll come back to Tonquani Lodge. Sure :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiltrudk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
5.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
826 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Address: Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £96 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing