We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wayside Inn(Knysna)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
287
55
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
55
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull bodyour honeymoongarden routeprivate poollittle thingsrelaxing staysouth africawarm welcomecooked breakfastthe cottageslovely placefireplaceforestluxurysawaterfrontnature
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Wonderful welcoming staff, perfect location, beautiful surroundings.. Much more than we could ever imagine!! The spa treatments were Amazing! Mile and I are world travelers, we have seen and experienced many places, believe me when I tell you how special Tonquani is..We were on our honeymoon, would for sure reccommend it to any newlyweds! Our next visit would be a babymoon! Thank you Maurita, Tawanda, Geraldine, Clement and all the hardworking staff for making our stay soooo special..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninikolov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were 4 adults and booked 2 chalets (4 & 5). The service was excellent, chalets are small but very cosy, with air cons & a fire place. The special little touches in the chalets on arrival and every night on our return to the chalet, made us feel special. King size bed with elec blanket was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was superb! This is a perfect place for couples. The location is ideal, only a couple of minutes drive to the centre of Knysna. The wooden floors were a bit noisy but understandable because of chalet styles (wooden). A big thank you to the staff who was very helpful and friendly!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 are close to the main pool area and reception.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gomag298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I booked one night as a surprise for my wife's birthday. Maurita and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make it memorable. They arranged a birthday card with a surprise spa treatment, booked dinner at a nearby restaurant with complimentary champagne and a beautiful birthday arrangement in our room. They even upgraded our cabin! The cabins are beautiful, deserving 5 stars, and the service excellent! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanJbayZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I booked Tonquani for our group (12 family members - 4 chalets) based on the TA reviews and was very very pleased.
Tonquani´s chalets are like log houses. The front ones are smaller, one bedroom, perfect for couples, very cozy.
The ones in the back are huge (we had 9 and 10), 2 bedrooms, fenced and have their own bbq area. 9 even had its own jacuzzi (I don´t remember if 10 had one as well).
All the units have their own deck and fire place.
The host Brandon and the staff is incredible.
The beds were decorated with flower petals, the toilet paper had an antilope origami, the shower rug was folded and decorated with glass beads. A lot of attention to detail.
Brandon suggest we did a braai one night and they prepared everything for us. Incredible salads, the tables set beautifully, all the meats ready to grill, all the extras, and they did even light the fire for us!
Breakfast was delicious, location was great (no views, but very quiet, nice big gardens for the kids to run, and 5 min by car to the waterfront).
Yes, maybe the beds could be a little bigger and the paitings of the big five are not attractive to all, but these small details didn´t really matter during our stay.
I would have liked some sort of heating and better ligthing in the bathroom.
My mom had a hot stone massage at the spa and really enjoyed it.
Tonquani has been one of our best hotel experiences ever.
We tottaly recommend it and are very thankfull to everyone there for a delightful stay!

Room Tip: All the chalets are wood logs, but nr 10 is painted white on the inside. So you can choose from a mountain-cozy-style or a beach-cozy-style. All the chalets have a tall window close to the roof, but only in some of them there´s some sort of cover to the light coming through it. So if you like to sleep till late in the morning, bring some eye mask.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luly_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and discovered a little tropical paradise tucked away just off the Garden Route! The grounds were beautifully kept, and our cottage had lots of little touches that made us feel like we were on our honeymoon again. In fact, the resort may have thought we were honeymooners--they upgraded us to a bigger cottage which was set up very much like a honeymoon suite: fresh flowers everywhere, cute decorations on the bed, etc.

The breakfast was excellent, with a large selection of buffet and made-to-order options. There were cheese plates, a granola bar, and fresh fruit juices. All of the staff and the owner were very nice and helpful, with everything from restaurant recommendations to IT support.

Thanks to a TripAdvisor promotion, we paid the regular rate, but got a snack basket and a 30-minute couples' massage included. The staff at the spa was great, and we had a very relaxing massage to start our day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews