We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa
Ranked #46 of 130 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We just spend 2 nights at Tonquani and loved every second of it. The chalets are very spacious with a nice lounge, big bedroom, bathroom with jacuzzi a small kitchen and even a little dressing area.

I'd definitely recommend going for a treatment at the spa here, the ladies are skilled and super friendly and go to great lengths to make you feel comfortable. The same can be said of all the staff at Tonquani. They are willing to arrange anything you might need and are always available to give tips on things to do. Even when we wanted to loan a DVD after reception was closed it was absolutely no problem.

And finally I really liked the wide selection of hot breakfast available! from omelets to scrambled eggs! French toast to pancakes, anything you'd want and all are delicious.

We can't wait to come back to SA and this piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Another great visit. Excellant massage by a very accomplshed masseuse in beutifull surroundings. Having managed to drop my neck chain charm and watch it going through the slot in the floor to oblivion things might have become stressed. NOT so the staff were outstanding and went the extra kilometre to find it. And they did. Wow!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Trev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We just loved this location, the chalets were spacious clean and the presentation were 11 out of 10, we had every thing we needed. A lovely bedroom, a spacious jacuzzi bath and shower, a kitchen and sitting room, the staff were lovely and the breakfast was excellent. It even had a swimming pool. We felt this was the highlight of our 3 week trip. We would be back today if we could! !

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank borntotravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Garden of Eden like feel, excellent breakfast, fine spa, lovely staff, very spacious chalets. The family suite has everything we wished and the private terras, garden and pool is a lovely plus! So quiet and only 5 min from downtown Knysna.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DutchDarlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We recently spent three nights at Tonquani during a 18 night holiday in the Western Cape, and cannot praise it highly enough. The service provided by Maurita, James and the rest of the team was second to none, our log chalet was the most comfortable accomodation we encountered throughout our stay - Tonquani is far enough away from Knysna to be peaceful, but close enough (10 minute drive) to visit restaurants and for day trips. Excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The linen is excellent. They need to cut the fig tree as the stench from rotting fruits is unbearable. The cabin was impressive and up to standard. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and we had a lovely rest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ayanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Staff were all extremely welcoming, courteous, cheerful and helpful. Good breakfast options well cooked to order - all excellent. Scones to die for! The two bed-roomed accommodation we had for our 10 day stay was spacious and well equipped – the lack of a cooker or grill was more than compensated by an individual braai. The opportunity to buy excellent supplies from reception for the braai and have it lit and cleaned for you made the experience all the more enjoyable. Location and surroundings contributed to an extremely relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. Well worth a visit - and stay as long as you can as there is so much to do and so many good places to eat!

Room Tip: Chalet 9 is very private on the edge of the site overlooking the gardens. The views of the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.4 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#17 of 30 in Knysna
49 reviews
5.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elephant Hide of Knysna Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
167 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.8 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa

Address: Welbedaght Lane | 1 Cherry Lane, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £71 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knysna's multi award-winning lodge offers luxurious individually decorated log chalets and family suites with every conceivable comfort including minibar, complimentary port and chocolates, tea, coffee and biscuits, TV, hair dryer, heater and air conditioner. Four units have a Jacuzzi bath, fireplace and the executive chalet has a private spa area for the ultimate in pampering. All units have private patios, air conditioner and barbecues and are serviced daily. For our guests' convenience we offer an affordable on-site laundry service. Sun loungers invite you to enjoy the welcoming coolness of the main swimming pool which is set in tranquil gardens where you can also enjoy a light lunch on the decked lapa. Three units have private splash pools and there is secure on–site undercover parking. The Spa has been designed to ensure total relaxation and privacy and clients enjoy the exclusive use of the Spa facilities during their treatment. There are all kinds of treatments and therapies to relax, replenish and invigorate. Guests can look forward to enjoying a full and varied breakfast with freshly baked scones, muffins and pancakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knysna Tonquani Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knysna Tonquani Lodge And Spa
Knysna Tonquani Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing