We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“still fantastic”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is a beautiful guest house with amazing views over the lagoon at Knysna . All of the rooms are well appointed with attention to detail . The hosts Chris , Mark and Sam are the best - nothing is too much trouble in a friendly relaxed way . The opportunities for sightseeing and eating are fantastic on the doorstep . If the hosts book your restaurant table you have the best seats in the house ! We loved the golf at Pezula especially - all arranged via the GH . We cant wait to return for a 3rd visit .

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lagoon have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Sarah g

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! We will look very forward to your 3rd visit and perhaps a game of golf together! Remember Kanonkop House and our guests at the Knysna Heights Villa always get discounted rates at both Simola and Pezula!

From all of us here have a stunning 2012!
Warm regards
Mark and the Conyers family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
260
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed in some pretty amazing places in our recent trip to South Africa, but Kanonkop was one of the best. This was mainly due to the relaxed, hospitable welcome from Chris, Mark and Samanatha. Their recommendations to restaurants and places to vist were excellent and seemed tailor made to the guests concerned. We left feeling totally relaxed and reluctant to leave. The Forest room was one of the loveliest rooms I have been in and the Africology toiletry products have left me addicted! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pusillanimous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Anyone can build a guest house. But Sam, Chris and Mark add the service that makes the Kanonkop unique and a rare find. The furnishings are very comfortable and the conversation, with a glass of wine, with owners and other guests stimulating and informative. Their advice on dining and sight seeing options was spot on. We will return and in the mean time recommend this jewel to everyone visiting the area!

Room Tip: The 3 suites range from excellent view (Paradise) to spacious and Private (Forest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at Kanonkop House over the holidays. Sam, Chris and Mark did everything possible to make our stay relaxing and memorable. Their suggestions for golfing, restaurants and activities were fantastic. Breakfast was delicious and our room was an oasis! During the trip I sprained my ankle and ended up on crutches. They even brought breakfast to our room one morning. Kanonkop House is a warm and welcoming guest house because of the caring, compassionate people who run it. Go. You will enjoy every moment.

Note that a car is absolutely essential as the guesthouse is about 10 minutes from town.

Room Tip: While the rooms on the water are especially lovely, our room overlooked the pool and had somewhat of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adaire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Everything about this guesthouse was perfect. The views are immense, the decor gives you the sense that someone has spent as much time and money as though they were going to live there themselves, the hosts were extremely friendly and breakfast was delicious.

Everything a guesthouse should be.

Room Tip: One a the front of the house facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CjakLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

we enjoyed our stay at Kanonkop very much. Excellent views, beautiful rooms, superb breakfast and excellent wine in the fridge.
Very helpful service when it comes to choosing your nights out (and getting them booked)!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pladijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed four nights in Kanonkop and we do highly recommend it.
The hosts Mark and Samantha were very friendly and welcoming, they really did everything to make our trip unforgetable.
We really enjoyed the place, the rooms are spacious and very luxurious, very quiet and great for relaxing. There s a pool and a great garden to spend some quiet time. Since it s located on a hill not right in the center, it is necessary to have a car.
A lovely breakfast is being served on a big table with all guests togehter, there is an open bar with great wines and all sorts of drinks for free.
Mark and Samantha help during breakfast to plan the day and book trips and give great recommendations.
We had a great time and would come back straight away!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
801 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing