We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London Uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Birthday Special”
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We spent two nights here as part of the garden route tour. The first night was in the "No Matata" room which is comfy, spacious and has a lovely bathroom. We slept like logs as it was very quiet.
The hosts Mark and his wife Arlene were so welcoming and friendly - we fell in love with the newest member of the family, Hugo their dog who is the cutest loveliest dog ever (if you are reading this Mark, if you ever need a dog-sitter, just call us OK!).
Breakfast was very good, although compared to the other b+b's we stayed in, it could have included a wider selection of food and jams.
There are free drinks including house wine and spirits which is a nice touch.
We then stayed in the Paradise Suite for our second night and I agree with the previous contributor in that the open plan was not a problem and the views from this room (both the balcony and the huge bathtub) are outstanding and jaw dropping. Whilst it is not cheap, this is a really special room for a special occasion.

The gardens were fantastic and very well kept, however the upkeep of the pool, left a lot to be desired. The water was murky and we never used it.

Do watch out for the unmetered taxi cartel in Knysna to the B+B's, which charge between 60-70 rand for a single trip to the waterfront which is only 5 mins away. Best if you travel with other couples in a 6 seater cab, thus saving you all expense each night.

Restaurants were excellent, Dry Dock and Cruise Cafe in particular.

An hour away, you must try the Steam Train which runs from George to Mossel Bay and back every day (advance bookings only) for a really special day out for all.

  • Liked — The Paradise Suite, the views and the owners' little dog
  • Disliked — The pool is lovely, but the water in the pool was murky on both days and at that price it should have been clean!
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aanLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
260
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely return. Chris welcomed us and served breakfast to us and was very helpful with local information and Mark was absolutely charming. Our room was lovely and spacious with every amenity. It was a nice touch to offer complementary wine and beer which my husband only partook of once but it was there if you wanted it. Everything was clean and the breakfasts were good too. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank GGmilliongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We spent our honeymoon in SA and stayed in 7 dif lodges/guesthouses, they were all great but Kanonkop was amazing!
When we left after just 3 nights felt like we were leaving a friends house and this is what somes up the service you get here - you feel like you are one of the family except you don't have to do the washing up!
On arriving Mark was there to greet us and over a glass of wine he was able to sort us out all our restaurants ( which had been prebooked for us, as it was a busy time of year - great touch!), transport, canoeing and walks.
We ended up staying in the paradise suite as someone had cancelled at the last moment ( fools!), it was amazing. As others have mentioned the view is incredible we even had our a couple of our fellow guests round for drinks to show it off! We didn't have a problem with the open plan , and didn't find it unusual in comparison to other SA rooms we had been in. All the decor was really nice.
Chris was there every morning to serve a great breakfast to us and our fellow guests and was available for long chats and sorting out any info we needed. The gardens of the guest house are very nice with good pool.
Chris, Mark and the rest of the family and staff made this place the highlight of our honeymoon - thanks guys and I hope we get to return some day!!

  • Liked — The amazing hospitality that we received!
  • Disliked — that we didn't stay there for another 3 days
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo7236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

Ok let me first discuss the "issue" of the open plan layout in the Paradise suite. I almost let a couple of the previous griping reviews sway our decision to stay at Kanonkop and I'd hate for something similar to befall other TripAdvisor readers. In short, the Paradise suite is everything that Frommer's wrote about when they called it "the best room in Knysna." Yes, the open plan layout can be disconcerting (especially if you're a new couple) BUT the suite has a second, competely detached bathroom just steps away on the first floor. I have no idea what the other reviews were complaining about regarding size (the suite is easily larger than most 1 bedrooms in New York or London). Don't forget the lagoon views or outdoor patio--spectacular, especially at sunset with a glass of your favorite beverage.

Kanonkop is a fantastic, beautiful retreat just on its own, but when you factor in the warm, hospitality provided by Chris and Mark, it steps into a whole other class. To be clear, if you're looking for a large hotel akin to a luxury chain offering (i.e., St. Regis, Jumeirah, etc.) then you're probably more interested in Pezula. Personally, I find that type of lodging a bit impersonal and devoid of local flavor, especially when there are beautiful places like Kanonkop in the area. Mark and Chris are incredibly personable and warm and go to great lengths to make you feel at home straight away. Chris was able to accurately direct us to some of Knysna's better dining choices, and Mark gave my wife and I a super hiking itinerary that we would never have found just using the guide books. If you're looking to connect with the true essence of South African hospitality, I know of no better hosts.

We stayed for two nights on a week long Garden route journey and when we go again (South Africa is too wonderful to visit only once!) I'll skip some of the places we stayed in Nature's Valley and head back to Kanonkop--truly delightful.

P.S. Spicy mushrooms at breakfast. Delicious.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, Views, Hospitality
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank soy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2007

An overall very nice place with fantastic view, friendly and helpful hosts. We were in the "NoMatata" suite (upgraded from a 'normal' room - extra charge of ZAR 300!), very nice and modern layout and quiet as it was a little away from the main house.
Breakfast was served next to the pool, which was an excellent start to the day.
If anyone is looking for a restaurant in Knysna, we can highly recommend Zest in the town center: Excellent food, outstanding service and great value for money!
So, overall, a nice experience. The only downside of the guesthouse (it's not a hotel as claimed on Tripadvisor!) is the location as it is quite a bit away from everything (you need to drive). The disappointment was the locked bar in the evening although drinks were supposed to be included in our price...

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — DIstance from town
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mooeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
394 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

The location is good, with lovely views over the bay. However, the "Paradise" suite has a very strange design, in that the toilet is completely open plan. This spoiled our enjoyment of our stay there.
This was particularly disappointing as this was the most expensive place we used on our trip. We think the price/ quality relationship is poor.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The open plan toilet in the "Paradise" suite
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank grafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Having read Trip Advisors reviews, we spent 2 nights at Kanonkop in November and were not disappointed. We stayed in the Paradise Suite with wonderful unobstructed views. The hospitality was excellent, delicious breakfasts, our every whim catered for and we could not have asked for a more interesting and helpful host. I would recommend Kanonkop without hesitation!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SAHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.6 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing