We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have been holidaying in South Africa on and off for the past 18 years and have been very fortunately to have stayed in some exceptional locations, but I must say that my first experience of Kanonkop House moves it staight to the top of our list of most favorite places in South Africa.
From the moment we arrived we knew we were in a very special place. The family who own and run Kanonkop are consummate professionals with a great warmth to their welcome and an incredible commitment to ensure their guests are looked after to the highest standards.
First Class all the way!!! We look forward to revisiting with Chris, Mark & Samantha.

Des, Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Des G, Thank you so so much for your super review. It is always such a delight to share the beauty of Knysna and of course Kanonkop House with such appreciative guests. Thank you again. We look forward to the next time. Very warmest regards, Samantha, Mark and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at Kanonkop for three nights in February during a three week holiday to South Africa.
We happened to arrive on the only wet day we encountered and my partner was to say the least stressed and drenched after a round of golf on The Fancourt LInks in the pouring rain.
From the moment we arrived at Kanonkop though all that stress melted away!! We were greeted warmly by Mark who insisted that on no account were we to carry any bags and were swiftly given a cold beer and a glass of wine whilst he sorted all the luggage as well as a lot of soaking wet golf gear, then ironically, at that very moment the sun came out!!
The hospitality we received was so warm and genuine.Sam and Chris Conyers run Kanonkop along with Mark and they are always on hand to make restaurants reservations or provide suggestions about activities for the day should you require their help they are also such lovely people just to have a chat and a drink with.
There is a relaxing terrace where breakfast is served ( delicious I might add ! ) and a sunny pool area too.
Kanonkop is ideally situated just a short drive from Knysna but in a tranquil location.
Our room The Paradise Suite was beautifully furnished, had a really modern open plan bathroom and from it's balcony afforded stunning views of The Knysna Lagoon.
We truly felt that The Conyers became friends in a very short space of time and we so enjoyed their company, in fact I wanted to adopt Grandpa Conyers ( Chris) and smuggle him home in my suitcase!!!
I cannot recommend this Guest house enough we had a wonderful three night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jusie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Jusie2,
Many many thanks for your very lovely review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kanonkop House. In particular we are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and the gorgeous Paradise room and views. We have added a fantastic new stylish 'tent' to the outdoor terrace and now we have an allweather outdoor lounge for guests to enjoy. We look forward to sharing a drink with you here. Many thanks again. Our very warmest regards, Chris, Mark, Sam and the Kanonkop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Sitting at the top of a pretty steep hill overlooking the breathtaking Knysna lagoon, we stayed at Kanonkop for 1 night on a whistle-stop tour down the Garden Route. With 2 generations running the show, were met in the (secure) carpark by an incredibly friendly Mark who helped us with our bags whilst Dad fixed us some drinks from the fully stocked complementary bar (amazing touch !!) Our room (the Sunbird Suite) was breathtaking, with big comfy bed, gorgeous old wooden pieces of furniture, as well as modern touches – music system with docking station, some quirky decorations, and the balcony terrace with completely glass barrier so nothing to break the jaw dropping view. The bathroom also made the most of the views with a bath overlooking it, as well as a big stone shower. Africology (?) products were high end environmentally friendly, and were available for sale if desired (although very pricy) They were brilliant though. Breakfast was outside under parasols in the small but colourful and perfectly kept grounds and pool. Buffet style layout with freshly baked bread, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, jugs of smoothies and juice, as well as a choice of cooked breakfast – served nouvelle cuisine style (we had scrambled egg mound with 2 rashers of streaky and 2 strands of chive balanced on top (small, but most delicious !) Service again was by the family (+ equally friendly wife ) and was relaxed yet efficient. We got some great tips and advice about where to go and what to see based on our time constraints and likes. Would definitely stay again. - the room was expensive in comparison to other places we stayed, but we enjoyed every moment there so can’t complain! Parting gift was a small hardback coffee table picture book signed by the family of photos of the local area. Amazing finish to a great stay. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunbirdsuite which must have the best if not the mist unbroken views of the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldMoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear WorldMoocher,
Thank you for your comprehesive review of Kanonkop House. We are always looking for ways to deliver a unique and quality experience for our guestsand are delighted that you were able to enjoy some of these during your very brief stopover. If you are ever in Knysna again we hope that you will be able to stay long enough to really enjoy all that Kanonkop House has to offer. Thank your again for taking the time to write a review and most of all, for coming to stay at Kanonkop House. Our warmest regards, Samantha, Chris, Mark and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was our third stop and we stayed for 3 nights. My wife and I loved the warm welcome we received from Samantha, Mark's restaurant recommendations and Chris's dry humour. The room we had was wonderful, beautifully decorated and breakfasts were a joy. Nothing was too much trouble and all of the additional touches made this a vey special stay. We cannot recommend it highly enough. Above all else it was their "way of looking after us" that made this place stand out from all the others. Making sure we had a lovely day planned with tips on where to go or where to stop for a great view or great food. They would gently suggest ideas for supper as we sat at breakfast and would happily book it for us. This made all the difference and created a 5 star experience .

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 2 rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_and_Judy_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Mark and Judy, We so appreciate your review. Often it is the rooms at the front rather than the garden rooms overlooking the pool that you stayed in that receive the reviews so we are delighted with your feedback. Many thanks for coming to Knysna and for staying at Kanonkop House. We are so glad that we had the opportunity to add some value to your travels. Warm regards, Sam, Mark and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in February and had an amazing stay, the family who host are delightful and nothing is too much trouble. They organised golf, restaurants and transport for us and every recommendation was excellent. The rooms are of the highest standard and the pool is an amazing place to relax and chill out with a bottle of wine on ice too!! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Les, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you were able to make use of our corporate memberships and play some golf on the exceptional golf courses in the area. We have just added a super 'outdoor lounge' to the pool terrace area and aside from the pool, this has now become a favorite place to relax. Our new video will be online when our website is updated by the end of May and if you have a chance to watch it it will no doubt bring back fond memories of Knysna and your stay at Kanonkop House. Many thanks for coming to beautiful Knysna and for choosing to say at Kanonkop House.
Our warmest regards, the Conyers family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed for three nights in January 2013 in the Sunbird room as part of a trip along the south west of South Africa. We stayed at some exceptionally nice places but Kanonkop really was fantastic.

The layout of the place is great- a really nice and well kept garden, great pool and rooms which are spacious and well decorated. The views of the lagoon are super.

What sets Kanonkop apart though is the local knowledge of Chris and Mark and their genuine pleasure and willingness to share it. Every morning at breakfast we discussed what we could do that day, and every recommendation was a pleasure. Restaurant bookings every evening were taken care of and each one was great quality.

We also enjoyed a drink and conversation with Mark and Chris of an evening-discovering the secrets of how to make biltong, the mysteries of De Beers diamond history and some great cricket chat as well (even if we agreed to disagree about the merits of Alastair Cook...!)

We would wholeheartedly recommend kanonkop to anyone travelling in this part of the world, and look forward to going back one day soon. A truly brilliant place to stay.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Valiant_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Valiant-Explorer, Thank you for exploring Knysna and for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write your review...it has no doubt contributed to ou rrecent tripadvisor travellers choice award for 'top 25 small hotels in Africa' with which we are truly delighted. So, once again, many thanks to you for your review. We look forward to a future chat on the merits of various cricketers at the bar. Warm regards, Samantha, Chris and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed at Kanonkop House for two nights at the beginning of January 2013 (3rd and 4th). We travelled down from Cape Town on the day and were given such a warm welcome it was almost unbelievable.

The house itself is immaculately decorated and our room (The Sunbird Room), was stunning. Very comfortable, lovely bathroom, plenty of space and a balcony with an incredible view of Knysna lagoon.

The hospitality we received from the owners Chris (hilarious dry wit), Sue (utterly utterly fabulous) and Mark (such a warm, enthusiastic and genuine host) was brilliant. We only had a short time in Knysna unfortunately and they all helped us really get the most out of our stay there.

The owners have made their home such a social and welcoming place we felt that we got to know them and some of the other guests, over wine in the afternoons and the delicious breakfasts in the morning.

I whole heartedly recommend that you stay here if you're spending some time on The Garden Route. We really didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoyOhBoyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear boyohboy, What a super review. Thank you so very much for your feedback and comments. Sue is particularly delighted and since she only appears so very rarely (we don't often let her out), we are delighted that you enjoyed meeting her. So few travellers have time to spend the weeks that Knysna and the local area really need to fully explore, and we are glad that we were able to help you unearth some of the gems so that you could leave feeling that you had made the most of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again. Our warmest regards, Sam, Mark, Chris and ...Sue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#18 of 30 in Knysna
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £194 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing