We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put this place on your trip list!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Brockville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Put this place on your trip list!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This place is really a perfect getaway spot. Location is perfect and the views amazing. The accomodations are superb, watching the sun rise over the lagoon from our balcony, but it's the owners who really make it special. It is family owned and they are perfect hosts! Mark, Samantha and Chris (and the staff) will attend to every detail, make you feel like one of the family, and were so accomodating in helping us plan our time in the Knysna area. From the refreshments as you arrive to planning every detail of your stay. They listened to what we wanted and then helped us with the details. Picked perfect restaurants, sailing, the lookout, nature walks....etc. Put this place and area on your trip list!
I only wish like a lot of other reviewers that we had planned more time at Kanonkop guest House and area so we could have enjoyed all they had to offer.

Room Tip: We only saw our room Sunbird and it was perfect but really the whole place was perfect so I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Susana B,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kanonkop House. We are delighted that you enjoyed the great views from our position perched on the apex of Kanonkop Hill in Knysna and that you were able to enjoy the beauty of the area and some of the local adventures activities as well as the dining options. Many thanks again and all the best for a happy and healthy New Year. Warm regards, the Conyers and our team at Kanonkop House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
260
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just returned stateside and wanted to leave a review while everything was still fresh in our memory. The location of Kanonkop Guest House in Knysna is spectacular and the hospitality is unparalleled! We arrived after dark following a shark dive and long drive. We were greeted by Chris with a lovely glass of chilled white wine, and introduced us to Biltong - which we welcomed with gusto! The breakfast meals were fabulous, fresh and relaxed and you really felt like guests in someone's private home! Their helpful recommendations from tours and driving routes, to dining and nail appt. suggestions were very much appreciated and bang on! We enjoyed visiting with Sam, Mark and Chris and other guests and sharing stories. Mark's playfully mischievous laugh still rings in our ears!! We could have easily stayed for another few days - 3 nights did not seem long enough in our beautiful Paradise room!! Sue did a gorgeous job with the decor and we loved the inviting colors and the subtle S. African feel of the house and room. The nearly invisible staff was so openly friendly and seemed to enjoy being a part of the "Kanonkop Family" and we were so pleasantly surprised to wake up to a spotlessly clean car!!! Magnificent! Thank you again and we hope to visit here again and will be recommending Kanonkop House to any who ask us!! P.S. Mark - Mala Mala was remarkable, breathtaking, life changing and unforgettable, as you said it would be! Brilliant!! ~ Debbie and Dale Jones, Bellingham, WA.

Room Tip: Simply put, Paradise Room was paradise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debjaloha56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Debbie and Dale, Wow, thanks for your fabulous review. We are always thrilled when guests enjoy their private rooms and the shared spaces that we try to create as well as the opportunity to meet other interesting guests. Thank you for the time you have taken to review your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the world as well as the safari that followed. Thank you again. Our warmest regards, The Conyers family and our 'invisible' staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Quite simply, one of the classiest places I've ever stayed in. Breathtaking views that are matched by wondefully relaxed hospitality and spectacular service (they even washed our car in the morning!!). From the moment we arrived we felt completely at home and I was just sorry that the two nights we stayed went by so quickly. If you are visiting the Garden Route you have to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear David J,
Many thanks for your super review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience of Kanonkop House and our hospitality and service. We try to create an atmosphere of relaxed luxury in a home from home environment so we are really happy that you felt so at home. We wish you a happy and healthy 2014. Warmest regards, The Conyers and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had the Wonderful opportunity to stay in the most awesome guesthouse. We stayed over for 2 nights in the Forest Suite and enjoyed every minute. The family team are very inviting and really go out of their way to make your stay as fantastic as possible. The views from the room were amazing and it was a really awesome getaway that wont be forgotten for many years to come. Sam, Mark and Chris are extremely helpful and with their knowledge of ''what to do'' and where to go really makes your stay in Knysna so much more special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_Chris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Caroline_Chris,
Many thanks for taking the time to revue Kanonkop House. We are delighted that we were able to give even you, as 'Locals to the Garden Route', some tips to maximise your enjoyment of this beautiful area. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Sam, Chris and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

It's definitely the best place to stay if you are traveling through the Garden Route. The welcoming family team had made our stay unforgettable. Chris helped with itinerary for the day and restaurant reservations. We've stayed in Forest suite and Paradise suit and both are gorgeous with great attention to all the details. Homemade breakfast was always great. Highly recommended place!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Olga S,
Many thanks for taking the time to revue Kanonkop House. We are delighted that you enjoyed both the Forest and the Paradise suites and took the time to share your experience of the rooms and our Kanonkop Hospitality with future guests. We wish you well in 2014. Many thanks again and warm regards, Sam, Mark and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We loved the warm welcome, the luxurious rooms with stunning views, delicious home cooked breakfast and afternoon/evenings drinks at the family bar made us feel like a part of the family, a big thankyou to Chris, Mark and Sam and all of your staff, we'll definitely recommend you to our friends and family.....

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear David M,
Many thanks for your lovely revue. We are delighted that you have taken the time to share with other travellers the things that you enjoyed about your stay at Kanonkop House. We wish you all the very best in 2014 and look forward to the opportunity to host those that follow your recommendations :). Warm regards, The team, Sam, Mark and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After spending my birthday just outside of Kruger National Park (Ngala) Phil and I travelled onto George and drove to Knysna were we stayed at Kanonkop Guest House. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of cool wine and by a wonderful warm and friendly hosts Chris/Sam/Mark. The food, the location, attention to detail and helpfulness was very much appreciated by me. It is a gorgeous place to stay and I thankyou so much for making my trip soooooo enjoyable. The rooms I understand were designed and decorated by Chris's wife Sue - Absolute "class" - I recommend this location to stay at 10 out of 10. Jeni Wait, Neutral Bay Sydney Australia.

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Jeni,
Thank you so much for your review. We love getting your feedback and really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with future guests. Sue is delighted by your reference to her input in the rooms and we will certainly strive to continue to keep the rooms fresh, unique and interesting. We will also keep the wine cold in preparation for your return ...one day :)
Warm regards,
Samantha, Chris, Mark and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing