We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kanonkop Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$146
US$117
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$210
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$179
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Russel Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcons View Manor(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$140
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
373
22
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
22
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise roomforest suiteguest housegarden routeplace to stayglass of winesouth africaamazing viewsknysna lagoonother guestsdinner reservationsthe main housethe penthousespent three nightsold friendscape townknysna heads
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was the first time that we stayed in a guest house anywhere in the world, and the experience was wonderful. Our hosts where extremely courteous and helpful in assisting us to arrange each day's activities. They listened what we were looking for and they made it possible with a minimum fuss. We also could ask them questions about the life in the area which they replied with great insight. That allowed us to get that extra bonus of being in someone's house, not just an impersonal business hotel.
We traveled there with our 12 year old daughter who felt also to be attended on her needs although she is a quiet and well travelled kid who enjoys privacy more than a noisy party. This is a very friendly but by no means sloppy establishment.
The service was very approachable and the standards were very high in cleanness and quality of amenities and food.
A true wonderful example of a guest house in a magnificent, secure and quiet location.

Room Tip: You can chose blindfolded and you won't fail to get a wonderful room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Laura S,
Thank you for your insightful and lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first experience of the more personal intimate 'guest house' experience that South Africa is well known for. It is always a pleasure to share the space that is Kanonkop House, and our time with interested and interesting guests. Thank you again for coming to South Africa, choosing to stay at Kanonkop House and for taking the time to write a reviews. All the very best to your family. Warm regards, Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here in February 2013. We were warmly greeted by our hosts, Chris, Mark and Samantha who made us feel so welcome and happy to be settling in for a few days. Our suite was fantastic with an amazing view over the Knysna Bay and the Indian Ocean. The breakfasts were superb over which we enjoyed much conversation with our hosts and other guests. Our stay at Kanonkop Guest House was definitely a highlight of our trip to South Africa.

Jim and Brenda Allen

Room Tip: All rooms overlooked the water I believe. Our view was amazing but I'm sure it was in every suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Jim and Brenda, Thankyou for adding your review to Trip Advisor. Thanks to your efforts and those of fellow travellers we have just been received several top hotel awards from Trip Advisor for 2014. Many thanks to you for taking the time, and for remembering us. We wish you all the very best for 2014 and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kanonkop House in the future. Warm regards from Chris, Mark and Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I read the poor reviews and the few who were unhappy did not do their homework. The Kanonkop House is not, as the name suggests, a hotel. Rather, it is a high end guest house. Imagine you are guests at the home of a wealthy South African family. You will have a very nice room, some amenities, great views, a nice pool, an open bar, and an overall relaxed atmosphere. Mark and Sam (siblings and the managers) are great hosts, have impeccable taste, and know the area well. The location is nice, at the top of the hill, and a 5 min drive to the Knysna water front and overall a perfect HQ for exploring the garden route. You'll want to steal the breakfast omelet recipe, but good luck as it's a family secret. Thanks Mark and Sam for a great stay!

Room Tip: Forest Suite has a great view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miguel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear miguel g,
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a helpful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the concept of being guests in a family home and that we were able to add value to your stay. Thank you for coming to South Africa and for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House. We hope to welcome you back. Warm regards, Samantha, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

From the moment we arrived to the time we left our stay at Kanonkop Guest House was perfect. Our room was beautifully appointed with a wonderful view, we were made to feel important, not just welcome. Our three night stay was far too short.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rikbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear rikbarb,
Many thanks for your lovely review. Thank you too for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House for your holiday in Knysna. We hope to see you again and thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us. All the best. Warm regards, Samantha, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

What luxury lay in stall for us on our way to the Eastern Cape. The bed was super comfy and the bath products a treat, Breakfast was tasty too. Great place to kick back and enjoy Knysna at its best. Great Work Sam and Co.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanonkop88, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear ClemD,
Many thanks for your cool review. We are delighted to have provided a comfortable bed and a tasty breakfast to fortify you for your onwards journey. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again. All the best for the year ahead. Warmest regards, 'Sam and Co'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews