We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality, lovely suite, tranquil view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our trip to Knysna was our mini vacation within our vacation, and Kanonkop House was just the restful interlude we were hoping for. The Sunbird room was decorated beautifully and offered a beautiful, panoramic view of the bay.

The warm hospitality of the staff and owners of this family-run guest house made us feel right at home, with sundowners by the pool, delicious breakfasts and great recommendations for things to see and do. Chris and Mark (father and son) made us feel so welcome, we felt more like personal guests of the family rather than tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeGlaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear DeeGlaze,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kanonkop House and the Sunbird Suite in particular. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and that your time in Knysna and at Kanonkop House afforded you the beautiful and restful interlude that you were looking for. Thank you for choosing to stay at Kanonkop House and many thanks again for your review. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back one day. Our warmest regards, The team at Kanonkop House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Paradise Suite at Kanonkop last October. The room was outstanding, and the view of the lagoon from the balcony was breathtaking. We had sundowners on that balcony both nights of our stay on the Garden Route. Not only that, but Mark and Sam both went out of their way to recommend great hikes and restaurants to us as well as book us a tee time at the local golf course. We highly, highly recommend Kanonkop.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Daniel S,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kanonkop House. We are delighted that you were able to make the most of the super views from the Paradise Suite with sundowners on the balcony, and that you ventured out to enjoy the great hiking spots in this beautiful area as well as enjoying some golf on our memberships at the local golf courses. Thank you again for your review and of course for travelling to South Africa and choosing to stay at Kanonkop House during your trip up the Garden Route.
Warmest regards from Sam, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Kanonkop guest house is an amazing place. Not only does it offer stunning accommodation, it offers a special and warm personal touch from the owners of the guest house. We had a special and warm welcome and were treated to everyday tips on what to do in the area. We were not only let into the guest house, but it felt like we were let into a home and hearts of a friendly, kind and special family. Thank you Kanonkop for making our 5 year anniversary such a memorable one:) The Nagars

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Pranisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

To the Nagars,
Thank you for your lovely review. It is always great to hear from South Africans and we really appreciate that you took the time to review your experience at Kanonkop House. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary here, We hope to have the opporutnity to share future celebrations with you. Our thanks again and very warmest regards, Sam, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was the most luxurious accommodation of our holiday. Run by Mark and Samantha and Dad Chris. We had a very warm welcome when we arrived in darkness so we couldn’t appreciate the beautiful location until the morning. We were happy to hear that Mark had taken the initiative and reserved us a table at one of the local restaurants especially as this was a long bank holiday weekend it would have been difficult finding a table.

Our room was the Sunbird and every attention to detail has been thought of. This guest house is beautifully decorated and contemporary furnished. The toiletry range in the bathroom is Africology® which is the height of natural pampering. Huge bathroom with large bath and a great big shower.

The best part of waking up in the morning was the fabulous view over the lagoon. We would love to wake up to this every day.

Breakfast is served in the dining room where drinks in the evening are complimentary. Gin, Vodka, Whisky, Brandy, Amarula, Port, Wine and all soft drinks are available to help yourself. Breakfast was very pleasant with a large table so guest can interact with other guests.

On departure guests receive a beautiful hardback book on Kynsna signed by Mark and Samantha. This is a delightful touch. Will definitely want to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Yorkie Rose,
Thank you for your lovely and detailed review of your stay at Kanonkop House. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Sunbird Suite, our toiletries range, Africology - all the more special as it is locally produced and uses natural and organic ingredients, the views over the forest to the water, and of course our bar and hospitality. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts and your experience. We hope to welcome you back one day :)
Our very warmest regards, Sam, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed three nights at the beautiful Kanonkop House in April 2014. To say that our gracious hosts were warm and welcoming...and great at recommending ways and places to explore the Garden Route is a big understatement! They were with us each morning over breakfast helping us plot our day's activities and meals. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. The house is close to everything in Knysna and is very conveniently located. Mark, Chris and Samantha are committed to giving you a fabulous stay! We highly recommend Kanonkop House as THE place to stay in Knysna and while enjoying the sites, sounds and tastes of the garden route.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBR0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear RBR0511,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kanonkop House and that you were able to make the very most of our local tips to ensure you had the very best experience of this beautiful area. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to review and share your experience of Kanonkop House and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again one day:)
Our very warmest regards, Samantha, Mark, Chris and the Kanonkop team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at Kanonkop for four nights as a base for exploring the garden route. We wholeheartedly endorse all the other reviews on here which highlight the wonderful, personal and friendly welcome from Chris, Mark and Samantha, the beautiful accommodation and the very high quality breakfast. It all made for a memorable stay.
Thank you!
Roger & Mandy

PS - for a trip to the beach, forget Plettenberg Bay and head for Buffels Bay and Brenton-on-Sea, over headland on the far side of the lagoon. It's wild, unspoilt and beautiful with a great beach and safe swimming on the sheltered side of Buffels Bay. But note it's a 15 mile drive between the two (unless you walk 5 miles each way along the beach!).

Room Tip: We stayed in Paradise, the one on the top floor of the front house with panoramic views of the lagoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EbbishamTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Roger and Mandy,
Many thanks for your detailed and useful review of your stay at Kanonkop House and the local area. I could not agree with you more, I think the beaches of Knysna (Buffalo Bay and Brenton among them) are some of the most beautiful in the world; pristine, unspoilt, long stretches of white sand and great swimming and surfing. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Our very warmest regards,
Samantha, Mark, Chris and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I were directed to Kanonkop as the accommodation we used on our previous visit to Knysna had sadly dropped it's standards. Sad for them, but not for us as this was a very lucky break on our part.

Our first impressions of Kanonkop were nothing short of jaw dropping. This home that has been changed to allow in guests is set on the hills overlooking the waters of Knysna. It is unbelievably luxurious and set in astounding greenery that surrounds the property and give you total privacy and security.

We were met by Angelina, greeted in the warm, welcoming way we have become accustomed to by all South Africans. She toured us through the portion of the home used by guests, shown the extensive bar (in which we could help ourselves to if we desired) and led up to the Paradise Suite.

This suite sits atop the most eastern section of the home and has commanding views of the bay out to the eastern heads entrance from the Indian ocean. There was a huge bed, corner tub, shower and private toilet. The room was also fitted out with a sitting area and a private deck outside to enjoy the views.

The family who are our hosts were out of town for the first day of our stay, but arrived later on to meet and spend time with us. We met the father, Chris, his son, Mark and daughter, Samantha over the next day or so. What a lovely family. They were the most hospitable of hosts and no request was too large or detail too small for their attention to make our stay the best it could be. The only thing they could not do anything about was the weather, but then, who can.

They all posses extensive knowledge of the local area for suggestions on restaurants and activities that are tailored to your unique desires. Thanks to all these lovely people we were treated like "Kings" as befitting our name and if life is kind to us we will have the pleasure of being their honoured guests one day again.

I honestly cannot recommend a stay at Kanonkop Guest House highly enough. You would be foolish to stay anywhere else in Knysna.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jollyjacktar321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanonkopHouse, Owner at Kanonkop Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Jollyjacktar,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and helpful review of your stay at Kanonkop House. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Paradise suite so much and of course that you enjoyed being hosted by the Conyers family and Angelika our fabulous sidekick! We too will be delighted to meet you again and hope that your future travels bring you back to Africa and in particular to Kanonkop House.We have recently opened the other common areas of the house and I think you will be happy with those additions to the guest experience. Thank you again. Our very warmest regards, Samantha and the Kanonkop team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#17 of 30 in Knysna
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range: £195 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing