We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Coulsdon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We did approach Kanonkop with a little bit of trepidation , as we had booked the Paradise Suite and had read a couple of worrying comments re. the toilet situation. We found that it was not a problem but , if you are worried , Mark and Chris have just completed the renovation of two other suites which they showed us , both being quite stunning and maybe surpasssing the Paradise suite and both having more traditional bathroom set ups.

We were magnificently looked after by Chris and Mark and the setting for Kanonkop is to die for. We stayed for 4 nights.

Unfortunately we experienced an incredibly violent storm on our last morning and I hope that the damage to the garden wall has not caused them too much trouble.

Special mention must go to Mona , Lisa and Hughie.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    20
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
260
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We loved our 3 day stay at Kanonkop and loved Knysna. The Conyers family kindly allowed us to stay even though they were in the midst of extensive renovations to the guest house. Knysna offers plenty to enjoy - good food, beautiful beaches to walk on (even in winter). Mark provided mountain bikes and dropped us off for with a picnic for a day of mountain biking through the awesome knysna forest. We didn't get to play golf due to the weather but visited the beautiful Pezula spa instead. Our room at Kanonkop was lovely, we had one of the only rooms not being overhauled and overlooked the pool and garden, the breakfasts were delicious even though the guest house was not officially open. We got to take advantage of Chris and Sue's local knowledge and really appreciated their excellent personal recommendations (and stories). We feel like we now have family in Knysna and would love to go back to stay in one of the renovated rooms - they look AMAZING!

  • Liked — the setting and views, the luxurious accommodation, the personal attention and suggestions
  • Disliked — it had everything and more than we could have asked for
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nicx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

My husband and I stayed at this Guest House in February as part of a three week trip around S.A. The kanankop is the only accommodation we would NOT return to!
Arriving late afternoon to a very frosty reception from 'the wife' of Chris we were eventually shown to our room 'The Paradise Suite'. Our professional private guide was instructed to carry our luggage by 'madam' as she claimed she didn't have anyone available to help!! Had we not prepaid our stay and if we had known of other places to stay in the area we would have left immediately!
The room is spacious but is definately not a suite, there is no phone in the room or easy chairs to relax in. Twice during our 3 night stay we had to request that the bathroom area be cleaned and fresh towels supplied.Another visitor below us smoked, not a problem except that dirty ashtrays were constantly left lying around outside on the patios....housekeeping was very poor, (even the lady smoking complained).

The location of this guesthouse is at the top of a hill approx. 10mins drive from the town....not somewhere to stay without a car!This was never mentioned prior to booking. The owners claim to offer transport into town once a day, this never happened. They will phone for a taxi if they happen to be around but if they've gone out for the night.....
The breakfast is good and adequate eaten in very pleasant surroundings with lovely views. However, this guesthouse in our opinion is definately not 5 stars (as they claim), and one we will NOT be recommending to friends.

  • Liked — Great view from our room
  • Disliked — attitude of a certain family member /owner. Also lpoor standard of housekeeping
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank DeniseSouthWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This place is fantastic. We spent one night in the paradise suite and plan to go back for a week! Chris and Mike are charming and helpful hosts - they take care of any request easily and graciously. The room is supurb. Looking over the lagoon towards the Heads, sunset on the deck is very romantic. The furnishings are of a quality generally not seen in guest houses, the breakfast, cooked to order, was delicious, and the free drinks was a nice touch. Can't wait to go back. Definitely ask for the paradise suite - it's worth it.

  • Liked — Everything - beautiful setting, gorgeous room, gracious hosts
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2008

On our second visit to Kanonkop we were greeted like family. Chris, Mark, Adell and Sue were all very sweet. The golf had all been booked in advance and all the plans were excellent. The rooms were all super.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and the restaurants that the hosts recommended were all amazing.
We will be back, and look forward to seeing the panned changes come to fruition with great interest.
Thanks to all at Kanonkop
The Saywells and Bill

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saywell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We spent two nights here as part of the garden route tour. The first night was in the "No Matata" room which is comfy, spacious and has a lovely bathroom. We slept like logs as it was very quiet.
The hosts Mark and his wife Arlene were so welcoming and friendly - we fell in love with the newest member of the family, Hugo their dog who is the cutest loveliest dog ever (if you are reading this Mark, if you ever need a dog-sitter, just call us OK!).
Breakfast was very good, although compared to the other b+b's we stayed in, it could have included a wider selection of food and jams.
There are free drinks including house wine and spirits which is a nice touch.
We then stayed in the Paradise Suite for our second night and I agree with the previous contributor in that the open plan was not a problem and the views from this room (both the balcony and the huge bathtub) are outstanding and jaw dropping. Whilst it is not cheap, this is a really special room for a special occasion.

The gardens were fantastic and very well kept, however the upkeep of the pool, left a lot to be desired. The water was murky and we never used it.

Do watch out for the unmetered taxi cartel in Knysna to the B+B's, which charge between 60-70 rand for a single trip to the waterfront which is only 5 mins away. Best if you travel with other couples in a 6 seater cab, thus saving you all expense each night.

Restaurants were excellent, Dry Dock and Cruise Cafe in particular.

An hour away, you must try the Steam Train which runs from George to Mossel Bay and back every day (advance bookings only) for a really special day out for all.

  • Liked — The Paradise Suite, the views and the owners' little dog
  • Disliked — The pool is lovely, but the water in the pool was murky on both days and at that price it should have been clean!
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aanLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely return. Chris welcomed us and served breakfast to us and was very helpful with local information and Mark was absolutely charming. Our room was lovely and spacious with every amenity. It was a nice touch to offer complementary wine and beer which my husband only partook of once but it was there if you wanted it. Everything was clean and the breakfasts were good too. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank GGmilliongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
801 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing