We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanonkop Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

I can't think of anything new to add, the previous reviewers hved said it all.
This place is stunning, the views are magnificent, the hosts are superb, they make you feel like personal guests, rather than paying clients. Mark hosts breakfast, Sam hosts pre-dinner drinks. I left there feeling as if I've gained 2 new freinds...I hope to see them again. :-)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesJEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
252
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

A wonderful place to stay, could not ask for better.

The Hotel is beautiful and Mark and Samantha are the the lovliest hosts you could wish to meet. Nothing is too much trouble for them or their staff are friendly and the rooms and views are to die for.

If you like hosts who are go out of their way to be friendly, attentive and helpful and make sure you have a great time then this is the place to stay.
Over yummy breakfasts, especially the omelletes and Mark sat and chatted with us every morning and helped us decide what to do that day, whilst Sam sat and chatted with us over drinks every evening - its more like a very luxurious home than a hotel.
We spent a fabulous few days at Kanonkop Guest House and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone. We will certainly be returning.
It really is as good as it sounds

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carofree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

What more can I say this was the perfect end to our time in South Africa. We had been in Capetown for a conference and by the time we arrived at Knysna were in need of some time to really relax. I was unwell and was nurtured with so much empathy by the gorgeous Samantha with Hot Toddies and lemon and honey teas. Chris and Mark also went out of their way to make us feel so welcome and very much at home. Our dinners were booked in advance by carefully selecting eating places suited to our taste and we were given a really good run down of the local area and things to do. We went to Marios on the Waterfront, Firefly and also the local food market.
On our final day my husband was booked to play golf at Simola - a truly beautiful course with some interesting challenges - I followed around in a buggy and as the scenery was so spectacular it was a unique way of seeing the local coutryside with views right out to the heads. I really enjoyed the 5 hours on the course with even a fabulous lunch available at a mini restaurant (halfway house) (Included in the fees for those that are playing)
Kanonkop provides exceptional breakfasts every morning and the open bar and evening turn down of our bed was just another way of making you feel so very welcome.(They even one night set the TV to a rugby game that we wanted to watch!)
We would certainly return to Kanonkop again and in fact I would be confident that they would put together a well researched itinerary and travel experiences to ensure we saw the very best of South Africa and beyond. Their own experiences and contacts giving them a ability to ensure your experience would be a truly unique adventure.
I can not imagine ever having a negative experience here and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loumike29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

What a great guest house. We booked the Paradise suite for five nights which was amazing and had stunning views over the lagoon. There was a lovely pool and sunbathing terrace. Mark and Chris were the perfect hosts. They were very helpful at all times and loved Chris' sense of humour. It's a shame the same can't be said for his wife who we found false and rude but luckily we didn't see much of her!
We were recommended the food market for supper on the Friday night which was brilliant. It was like a giant picnic area where the locals gather with fabulous food stalls (great food and really cheap). There's live music, big fire pits and a fantastic atmosphere and just two mins away.
All of the recommendations we were given by the guys were spot on. Our highlights though had to be the sailing trip through the heads with Steffan.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brecon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

This was our first trip to South Africa and after the hustle and bustle of Cape Town, we found the most beautiful place to spend a week exploring Knysna and the surrounding area.

We have travelled the World and this place is a real gem. If you want quiet and want pampering with 5 beautiful suites to choose from. this has to be the place to stay.

Chris, his wife, his son Mark and daughter Samantha are the most delightful people you could wish to meet. Nothing is too much for their guests, the staff are so kind and friendly and the rooms and views are to die for. Elegance and serenity spring to mind. If you like hosts who are gracious, friendly, attentive, helpful and will go out of their way to make sure you have the most relaxing stay possible, you need look no further. Their knowledge of the area in respect of eating places, walks, shopping, beaches, places of interest is endless, as is their true desire to make sure you enjoy every aspect of your stay in Knysna.

Reservations are made for you at the best, not necessarily the most expensive restaurants. The breakfasts are amazing and last as long as you like, with friendly chat throughout. Your room is turned down each night and the ambiance is superb.

My wife and I spent a fabulous week at the Kanonkop Guest House and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone. We will certainly be returning as often as possible. Believe us, you will not be disappointed !!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steviemacHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

This place is even nicer than it looks on their website: stunning views (definitely try to get one of the three rooms at the front with the views over the lagoon), stylish individually furnished rooms, great personal service. Quite expensive but worth it. Knsyna is definitely the nicest place to stay on the Garden Route and this must be one of the best places to stay in Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldhurstGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Just had the most fantastic three nights at the Kanonkop Guest House. The service is exceptional. Without a doubt the best place we stayed during our time in the Cape. Large rooms (even the "no matata" room where we stayed), complimentary bar, wonderful Africology bath products. They booked all our restaurants for us and helped us plan our days. Mark and Chris are the most amazing hosts. My wife and I can't speak highly enough of this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claydonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.7 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing