We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise found!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanonkop Guest House
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise found!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Kanonkop House and the wonderful Conyer family were undoubtedly the highlight of our travels along the Garden Route.
What a gem of a place this is - beautifully presented in every way. The welcome we received from our hosts and the warm kindness they showed our family throughout our stay, was outstanding - it was more like visiting good friends , which by the time we left we felt we had become.
The fabulous decor and superbly comfortable rooms and beds, were much appreciated after a long drive - with every last attention to detail thought out - and drinks at the bar every evening prior to going out for dinner, was a great bonus especially if we could share them with Mark or Chris whilst they helped us plan our next day's activities. Mark had already pre-booked all our restaurants prior to our arrival, and each one was fabulous [ especially "The Olive Tree's" steaks! ], and taxi's were arranged for us every night too. We didn't have to think about a thing - Mark booked our tee-off times at Pezula and Simola Golf courses, and even took our sons out water skiing at dawn on the lagoon. A successful first experience and Jamie is still grateful you kept him up and on the water rather than in it!
Breakfasts are freshly prepared and served on crisp linen tablecloths. Every kind of cooked breakfast offered with omlettes being their speciality - you name your filling and they'll do it. Wonderful choices of cereals, jams and fresh breads all washed down with teas, coffees and heavenly fruit smoothies - bliss !
Kanonkop truly is a piece of paradise with wonderful views onto Knysna's lagoon and the Heads. Mark and Chris will gladly recommend lots of activities to do and places to see, but if relaxing by the pool within the beautiful gardens and sipping on some wonderful chilled South African wine is more your scene, then this is the place to be!
If you do nothing else, make Kanonkop House the place to stay when driving along the Garden Route - you will NOT be disappointed.
Thanks again to you ALL for making those 4 days so special for us - wonderful memories for our first visit to your beautiful country. We would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weefi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    19
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
258
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

A wonderful place to stay, the guest house is so beautiful.

We spent three nights in the guest house during our football world cup 2010 tour in South Africa. Chris and Mark are the the lovliest hosts you could wish to meet.

If you like hosts who are go out of their way to be friendly, attentive and helpful and make sure you have a great time then this is the place to stay.

Freshly prepared breakfast every morning (omelletes served by Mark!), chats about what to do that day (thanks to Chris for booking the whale watching trip in Plettenberg), drinks in the evening and discussions about the football teams - its more like a very luxurious home than a hotel.

We spent fantastic three days at Kanonkop Guest House and can certainly recommend it to anyone. We will certainly be returning.

Thanks very much for everything! M+C

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_the_Octopus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Kanonkop is the most amazing guest house, just outside Knysna with views over the lagoon. Mark and his family made us feel so so welcome - it was very much "home from home". It's so beautiful- with gorgeous touches in terms of decoration, stunning views, delicious breakfasts, excellent G&Ts and obviously wonderful hosts!!

They give us excellent tips on what to do and where to go around the area.

Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

The most fantastic luxury accomodation that we have ever experienced anywhere in South africa. We arrived as guests and left as friends. Many Thanks to the Conyers family for their outstanding hospitality! We look forward to our next visit. Keep up the good work.

Mnay Thanks
The Mitchell's

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank africa093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Wow! Kononkop is a must !!! Beautiful views, stunning setting and great hospitality. 10 out of 10!!! We stayed at Kanonkop for our second year wedding anniversary and the Conyers family really went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant and really memorable one. We were treated to accomodation in the paradise suite and in our opinion this room has one of the most amazing views in Knysna.

The guesthouse is tastefully decorated and the attention to detail is quite unique. This was our second visit to the guesthouse, the visit being for a wedding reception, we were blown away on both occassions.

This guesthouse is truly five star !!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

My husband and I were well overdue a break, so we booked our precious 2 nights away at Kanonkop Guest House with very high expectations. We received a wonderful, friendly welcome, and were shown to our room. WOW, what spectacular views of the Knysna Lagoon from our deck, and the room was very tastefully designed.
The Hosts are passionate about making your stay as comfortable as possible, and we give them 10 out of 10 for hospitality, and 5 stars for "chef" Mark.! Bernice and Jason, East London, S.A.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Wonderfully done up rooms with underfloor heating. There is a lot of attention to detail in the rooms.
The hosts are very attentive and excellent company. They really took the effort to get to know their guests and make our stay an experience to remember. We didn't want to leave! We had very good tips on restaurants and sightseeing from the hosts.
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Falcons View Manor
Falcons View Manor
#3 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.6 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
1.7 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanonkop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanonkop Guest House

Property: Kanonkop Guest House
Address: 6 Cuthbert Street, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanonkop Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kanonkop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing