We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than perfect”
Review of Isola Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isola Bella
Ranked #63 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Although the rooms were clean and neat, and most things were in place, it is the small differences one would expect from a 4 star establishment that was missing. We selected Isola Bella based on others glowing reviews and reports of hospitality. Marisa was on leave overseas during our 2 day stay, and left us in the hands of Maria. Although friendly, and seemingly helpful, I was still surprised when in the morning, it seems to be expected of the guests to prepare their own breakfast, with bread, eggs, a toaster and some fancy egg boiler left in the communal lounge, but no one to prepare anything. Needless to say we skipped breakfast the last morning. Which brings me to my last issue, even at 2 and 3 star rated guesthouses the rooms normally have private coffee and tea facilities. At Isola Bella this needs to be shared with everyone else. We were lucky that no other guest were around, because the fight in the evenings over the shared TV could be nasty. I would strongly recommend that you do not plan your visit when Marisa is on leave, as it seem to be a different experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip_Mostert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Isola bella, great room, breakfast on a terrace with gorgeous view towards the heads, with interesting talks to other guests, and with a very friendly host with italian charme! We would always come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ulrike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We spent a few days in this beautiful guest house and we were warmly looked after by the owner Marisa. The rooms are spacious, clean and perfect in all details.An elegant place in a super sorrounding. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank gno p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Travel Exclusively African organised our 5 week self drive tour of Western Cape and highly recommended visiting Knysna. We had originally booked the self catering accommodation at Isola Bella but on arrival asked to change to one of the main rooms. Marisa immediately changed our accommodation and continued to do everything she could to make our stay special.

Situated on the Lagoon with amazing views the bedrooms are large, spotless and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Wonderful location and a very warm welcome from Marisa. Ideally located on Leisure Isle a safe and beautiful spot facing the Knysna Heads. An abundance of restaurants a short drive away and a refreshing 4k walk around the island for those enjoying light exercise. A stop over not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a classy, elegant guest house in a waterside location on Leisure Isle. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and large although some lack a little privacy. However, the house is very secure and there is off road parking. Breakfasts are a little minimal but adequate and served on a balcony with amazing views. Marisa, the owner, is extremely friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AncientmarinerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stay at Isola Bella just last week - 12 October. We were driving around Leisure Isle after a superb lunch at the East Heads cafe when my husband spotted Isola Bella. We were on a driving holiday and had planned to spend the night closer to our final destination Cape Town, but couldn't resist Isola Bella and its beautiful surroundings. Our impromptu stop did not let us down.

We didn't meet the owner but had a very very friendly welcome from the manager, Maria, who was very personable and professional.

The room we had (2 adults and our 6 year old son) was sufficiently large enough for one night, the breakfast Maria and Evelyn cooked was superb. As it was a beautiful morning Maria and Evelyn had set up breakfast on the balcony for us. Nothing was a problem for these two formidable but very friendly ladies.

Whilst the indoors area of the Guest House is cosy - the balcony is huge and offers great views of the lagoon and Heads. There were two other men staying at the Guest House when we were there but it wasn't a problem as the living area is large enough to accommodate everyone's needs.

We enjoyed a great afternoon on the beach and found a restaurant at the Waterfront without too much effort. Slept in a plush bed with great linen after a long hot shower with beautiful toiletries supplied. Maria and Evelyn were so friendly with my husband and I and our energetic 6 year old. It felt like we had known them for ages. What else could you need ?

Isola Bella - beautiful !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WF1PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
861 reviews
19 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Woodlands Self Catering Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
19.5 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Bella

Address: 21 Hart Road | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £75 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Isola Bella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Isola Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing