We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding boutique hotel and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for a one night stay during our family vacation driving the Garden Route. We were greeted by a lovely manager on the night we got in, who couldn't do more to help with us settling in for the night.

As we were a family of four (6 & 8 year olds) we required two rooms and were delighted with the decor and standard of the rooms that were next to each other. The Lofts is an old boatshed that has been transformed into small business down the bottom level and hotel rooms above them. The beds were incredible to sleep in and the furnishings of an exceptional but very comfortable standard.

We were given a lot of information about Knysna and where to eat, what to do, sightseeing ideas that we easily could of stayed for another day. They don't supply breakfast but give you vouchers for breakfast and you can choose between two cafe's, one walking distance and the other at the waterfront (about a 5 minute drive). Both were fantastic and great value as we never used up the whole of amount of the voucher, even having everything we wanted for breakfast.

There is a large shopping area adjacent to the hotel, but as we spent the days sightseeing we never ventured into it, however ate at a gorgeous italian restaurant on the water which was walking distance from the hotel.

We were planning on staying in Plettersberg the next night (as that was our destination for the next day), however after viewing some of the hotels to stay and the prices, we decided to head back to the Lofts for another night's stay because of the quality and value for money.

We would gladly recommend this hotel for families/couples as a stop along the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlmhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed here as part of our trip through the garden route was a nice hotel with an excellent location. The only real fault i could personally find was the price but then again i felt very safe and had two great nights sleep here so what more could you want. The surrounding areas where very safe too we walked to a restaurant at night time and at no point did we feel that we needed to be extra cautious

Overall good acommodate freindly helpfull staff and nice location

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheClockFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

we were very sorry that we stayed just one night (we were in our way to the ShamWari Game Reserve) and didnt have enough time to appreciate all that this wonderful hotel has to offer! The room was fantastic and unique! Staff very carefull and made everything to make our stay the most pleasable possible! The city is small, cute and with charming restaurants. We hope to come back again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TocaTur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We loved our stay at the lofts with my husband, four year old son and my mother. We choose a 2 bedroom suite which as very comfortable and stylish with plenty of space for the young man. The rooms are very clean and the suite has facilities should you choose to self cater which is always a useful option when traveling with young children. The location on Thesen Islands was interesting and the variety of breakfast venues was a plus. The reception assistance was most helpful with their suggestion. Thank you Karen and Rhoda. A beautiful beautiful unusual place. We loved it and my mother who can be hard to please cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: 2 bed suite for families offers good space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fumpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Don't miss this one, it is fab! Fantastic views across the lagoon from outstanding rooms. Large comfortable beds, great amenities, very friendly and helpful staff. We had what amounted to a duplex apartment with the children up a ladder to a second "loft" room, they loved it! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estherjon5jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Myself and my wife stayed at The Lofts twice during March and it did not dissapoint. The Hotel does exactly what it says, its a small botique hotel and it has that feeling. Staff was friendly, rooms were always clean, and in the morning they provide you with a breakfast voucher to eat at a resturant of you choice in the area, which I think is a nice touch. Depending on your room you have great views over Knysna lagoon and the setting appears extremely tranquil. Greaat choice based on service and price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This was our second visit and we stayed 16 nights. It's quiet, peaceful and comfortable. Location is good, away from the bustle of Knysna town but lots of choice for eating on the island or just across the causeway. Above all the management and staff can't do enough for you. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fungus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
2.4 mi away
The Mount Knysna
The Mount Knysna
#18 of 30 in Knysna
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#3 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £123 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better way to enjoy Knysna than a stay on an island, located not only in the heart of the Knysna Lagoon, but also in a Blue Flag Marina in the very centre of Knysna? Set within the remodelled timber frame of the old Knysna boatbuilding shed, the hotel rooms take one's breath away with their industrial refurbishment and design. This fresh, smart-casual approach is far from the ordinary, and caters well to every desire. Multiple room options are presented in various styles: Exclusive Lagoon Suites Luxury Loft Suites Luxury Units with Self-catering Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing