We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed 3 nights, The hotel is on waterfront with great views over the lagoon in modern development on Thiessen Island.
Room 3b spacious and very nicely appointed with a large balcony very clean.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpfull booking trips and restaurants for us.
There are no staff onsite overnight.
Breakfast was in adjacent bakery which was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmuggeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

A beautifully designed and furnished apartment which was a lovely change from the usual hotel environment. Thesen Island itself had some great eating options within a 2 min walk and to venture over the bridge to the waterfront was only a 5-10 min walk. Very friendly and helpful staff who made us feel very welcome. Great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greavester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The hotel was full, but they had the penthouse suite available nearby. It is absolutely amazing, extremely modern with lots of lovely fittings and adornments, huge open plan lounge with kitchen & all appliances, ( egg cups would be handy too please). Large bedroom with four post bed, roll top type bathtub in bedroom, walk in large shower with choice of rain or normal showers, two basins, plenty of room. Large tv's in both main rooms and the most amazing large balcony with large table & chairs, electric barbecue and the best views of the lake for miles around. Don't seem to take credit cards for some reason, even the smallest guest house we stayed in took cards. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

A pleasant surprise great choice we enjoyed a pleasant stay the staff were fantastic and the facilities were outstanding lots of character. Views just spoilt it though

Room Tip: Eat at the Turbine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We spent five nights in a luxury 2 bedroom suite at the Boatshed. What a wonderful idea to use the building as all rooms are different. We were pretty much the only guests early September and enjoyed the little home far away from home. We only had one night bad luck when the storm was so bad that the bedroom wall and windows were soaked. Unfortunately, it was really cold then and they could not provide a heater. The next nights were very good and our daughter loved to have her own kingdom on the gallery. This is, however, only for the physical fit as climbing the ladder may not be everyone's idea of a perfect stay.
Thanks also to the lovely lady at the reception who recommended a nice guy to show us the townships in Knysna. We had an unforgettable tour and learned so much about the people and also enjoyed the wonderful dinner we had at the tour guide's own restaurant at night - that was unforgettable!
The Spa was also fantastic - I got a voucher for a bath and massage for my birthday that I had during our stay so I had a wonderful morning!
The Lofts is a very nice spot with beautiful views on the lagoon and at Knysna which we can totally recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Lofts is very comfortable, and our room had great decor, including quirky exposed beams and a huge covered balcony. It has no restaurant or breakfast facilities of its own, but that's fine, since there are great restaurants within walking distance, and they can give you vouchers for charming breakfast places nearby. The best thing about the Lofts, however, is the service. The ladies at the front desk, Rhoda and Lulu, were both so friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They gave us so much great advice about nearby attractions and went out of their way to be helpful to us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newyorker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed on Thessen Islands for a one night stop-off and the Lofts hotel was perfect. I would also recommend it for a longer stay.
Good size rooms and bathrooms, very clean, beautiful views from the quiet room, a clarins spa attached ( if required!) and great breakfast at Isle de Pain, if you go for the non- self catered option. The staff were very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £115 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better way to enjoy Knysna than a stay on an island, located not only in the heart of the Knysna Lagoon, but also in a Blue Flag Marina in the very centre of Knysna? Set within the remodelled timber frame of the old Knysna boatbuilding shed, the hotel rooms take one's breath away with their industrial refurbishment and design. This fresh, smart-casual approach is far from the ordinary, and caters well to every desire. Multiple room options are presented in various styles: Exclusive Lagoon Suites Luxury Loft Suites Luxury Units with Self-catering Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing