We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed here about 6 years ago as a one night stop over on the garden route and I wish we had booked more time. The place is truly amazing and I felt at ease. The room we had looked out over the water and the views were brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

The lodge is very nice to stay, both for families as couples. It's location is very nice, breakfast is just around the corner and/or you have to option for self catering. Dinner at Waterfront is also very close (walking distance). There is a small, but nice pool.
Brenton has a nice (but rough) beach and for families the beach a Leisure Island is a very good option. For both you will need a car though.
The Lofts has a canoe which can be used complementary, for the little ones a life vest is available.

Room Tip: The apartments are all different, it is hard to say where to stay, but if available have a look and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dereksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Good setting on the very safe Thesen Island. Room was comfortable and of a good size; a few rooms have views over the lagoon. A couple of points of which you should be aware: 1. internet access is not included (you have to pay for it at R35 per 100MB, only usable on 1 device at a time). 2. as stated on the website, there is no breakfast provided. Instead, a voucher is offered to make a contribution towards the cost of breakfast at a nearby establishment (the marvellous Isle de Pain is much recommended). We found that the voucher was of insufficient value to cover a glass of fruit juice, a coffee and one modest plate of food, so you will probably end up paying towards your breakfast. These two issues are pretty minor but were a shame given the prices charged, and the very pleasant nature of the guest house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmam34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the lofts for 5 nights in December and we absolutely loved it! The rooms themselves were beautifully decorated and on top of that we had a wonderful view of the lagoons from our balcony! But what really made our visit memorable was the excellent service we received during our stay, in particular from the lovely Rhoda. There are many hotels, guesthouses in SA and the world where you will find similarly luxurious accommodation, but it the personal touch that Rhoda gives to this establishment that differentiates it from the rest. Throughout our visit we found Rhoda to be engaging, warm and extremely helpful, she is someone who clearly enjoys her job. By the way if you do plan to stay at the lofts, make sure you to listen to Rhoda's recommendations, as a a result of her tips we had some great day trips and also ate some great food!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilChou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I have stayed twice at the Lofts and both times has been an excellent experience. Can't recommend enough. Rooms are well appointed and you can't beat the location right on the Estuary. The staff were polite and friendly and it makes a welcome change.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My son and I were travelling the Garden Route and liked this hotel so much we extended for a second night! The ambiance is incredible as the rooms have been created out of an old boat-buiding hall. There are lovely old timbers everywhere, yet the rooms are ultra modern, ours had twin white leather couches, a great contrast to the old warm wood. We were in a two-storey, two full bedroom and 2 bathroom self-catering unit - the kitchen was super attractive, too. We even had a balcony, although that did look over a parking lot. The pool is small, but the deck around it has a great view over the lagoon and the sun is there until just before sunset. I even visited the attached spa for a treatment, which was great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skib99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel while on honeymoon in Cape Town, and were immediately blown away by the simple and yet plush and chic look of the hotel and surrounding area!!! Fond memories of the relaxing atmosphere, gorgeous sunsets, breathtaking views of the sea, lovely sunrise, beautiful sights and infectious sounds that can only make Knysna the quaint little town it is! Service was prompt and very helpful, squeaky clean rooms with tasteful and elegant decor, fantastic proximity to quaint little shops, lovely restaurants and relaxed hangouts, bars ... We look forward to coming back again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £115 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better way to enjoy Knysna than a stay on an island, located not only in the heart of the Knysna Lagoon, but also in a Blue Flag Marina in the very centre of Knysna? Set within the remodelled timber frame of the old Knysna boatbuilding shed, the hotel rooms take one's breath away with their industrial refurbishment and design. This fresh, smart-casual approach is far from the ordinary, and caters well to every desire. Multiple room options are presented in various styles: Exclusive Lagoon Suites Luxury Loft Suites Luxury Units with Self-catering Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing