We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Loved staying 2 nights here! Friendly, very comfortable, quirky hotel/apartment! Staying on the island was beautiful. Great restaurants, beautiful sunsets and a feeling of serenity! Watched the fog roll in through the headlands and sit over the harbour - magic! Husband went mountain biking with a guide into the forests! Hotel made arrangements and he was collected from the front door. Beautiful break away on our first South African trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

We only stayed 1 night in the 2 bed apartment but wished we could have stayed longer to make use of all the facilities. Hotel has a fantastic location overlooking the lagoon with a small plunge pool for communal use and onsite spa as well as the most friendly staff you could wish for in a hotel. The design of The Lofts in the old boatshed is a brilliant and unique concept and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Decor around the hotel is of the highest standards and has been designed with a sea/beach theme which is fantastic. No restaurant but plenty near by. Breakfast at Il de Pain is very very good as is dinner at The Olive Tree in Knysna main street. Also Thessen Island (which is where the Lofts are situated) has many boat excursions if you fancy it.

Definately a 5* hotel and I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

what a fantastic place to stay...we were in one of their apartments overlooking the lagoon and it was gorgeous...we were there 2 nights and I could have easily stayed there for a week!!The satff were so helpful and friendly...this is the place to stay when going to Kysna...there is no restaurant on the premises...but this does not matter as there are plenty of excellent restaurants in the vicinity. there is also an excellent spa..there is a lounge are with free internet access and there is a good selection of wines etc available to guests on an honor basis...a truly enjoyable stay..anne e joyce

Room Tip: all of the bedrooms are beautiful...you cannot go wrong with any...the apartments sleep 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneli891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience in this place with so much history and an interesting conversion from being the boatshed on the island, A wonderful book in the honesty bar area is worth a read as you sit in a spectacular setting

This hotel is only staffed from 7am to 7pm but the perception is that you have wonderful service and that you are really treated as a friend rather than a guest, There is no meals provided in the hotel but why compete when you have ile de pain next door for breakfast and many locations within short walking distance for meals. Alternatively you have facilities to cook your own meal in the 2 bedroom suite we were allocated.

The hotel provides bikes which we used to cycle safely round part of the lagoon and a canoe. There is adequate parking some covered under the rooms on the west side of the hotel or off the street leading down to the hotel reception. The area appeared very safe to us and we walked around at night.

The swimming pool is small but facing west is a lovely place to sit in the early evening watching the boating and birdlife activity on the lagoon and if you are lucky spotting the resident seal splashing in the water in front of you

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms in this converted boatshed only a couple of which have a full lag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandjenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at The Lofts Hotel this weekend and it was great! Stunning setting, great service and lovely rooms. we will definately be back! The hotel is within walking distance from good coffee shops, restaurants and shops. It is also within walking distance from the Knysna Waterfront.

Room Tip: Lagoon facing rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knysn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Regarding the view, it does not get better than that! You can even take a steamy bath whilst watching the lagoon and not be seen, how awesone?
The bed quality was amazing (after a previous night in a horrible place), the room totally dark, just what we were looking for.
The staff were very friendly, well trained and very helpful.
The only thing is that you are given vouchers to have breakfast in 4 places of your choice. DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT choose the Turbine Hotel, this was the worst breakfast I have ever had in my life. Go to Ile de Pain around the corner for the best breakfast ever!
Will be back!

Room Tip: DO NOT have breakfast at the Turbine Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdequekervandermerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Poorly managed - we did not expect to be hustled to buy a "Persian carpet" on arrival. Room was sparse, the "bath/shower" downright dangerous and half of the "lagoon view" comprised the people next door. We were above reception, next to the stairs and therefore on a noisy location in spite of having asked for a quiet one. The furnishings can only be described as bizarre. Breakfast consists of vouchers for a local cafe which runs on New York prices. For the price, an Insult given the usual high standard of South African Lodgings.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3waltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.8 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#9 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £114 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better way to enjoy Knysna than a stay on an island, located not only in the heart of the Knysna Lagoon, but also in a Blue Flag Marina in the very centre of Knysna? Set within the remodelled timber frame of the old Knysna boatbuilding shed, the hotel rooms take one's breath away with their industrial refurbishment and design. This fresh, smart-casual approach is far from the ordinary, and caters well to every desire. Multiple room options are presented in various styles: Exclusive Lagoon Suites Luxury Loft Suites Luxury Units with Self-catering Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing