We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$356
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falcons View Manor(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$641
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
222
114
35
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
114
35
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsile de painthesen islandbreakfast vouchersharbour townself cateringbreakfast is servedunderfloor heatinggarden routeour room was spaciouswe loved our staythe ground floorgreat roomenjoyable stayoystersoverlooking the lagoonamazing viewsstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Loved staying 2 nights here! Friendly, very comfortable, quirky hotel/apartment! Staying on the island was beautiful. Great restaurants, beautiful sunsets and a feeling of serenity! Watched the fog roll in through the headlands and sit over the harbour - magic! Husband went mountain biking with a guide into the forests! Hotel made arrangements and he was collected from the front door. Beautiful break away on our first South African trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We only stayed 1 night in the 2 bed apartment but wished we could have stayed longer to make use of all the facilities. Hotel has a fantastic location overlooking the lagoon with a small plunge pool for communal use and onsite spa as well as the most friendly staff you could wish for in a hotel. The design of The Lofts in the old boatshed is a brilliant and unique concept and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Decor around the hotel is of the highest standards and has been designed with a sea/beach theme which is fantastic. No restaurant but plenty near by. Breakfast at Il de Pain is very very good as is dinner at The Olive Tree in Knysna main street. Also Thessen Island (which is where the Lofts are situated) has many boat excursions if you fancy it.

Definately a 5* hotel and I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

what a fantastic place to stay...we were in one of their apartments overlooking the lagoon and it was gorgeous...we were there 2 nights and I could have easily stayed there for a week!!The satff were so helpful and friendly...this is the place to stay when going to Kysna...there is no restaurant on the premises...but this does not matter as there are plenty of excellent restaurants in the vicinity. there is also an excellent spa..there is a lounge are with free internet access and there is a good selection of wines etc available to guests on an honor basis...a truly enjoyable stay..anne e joyce

Room Tip: all of the bedrooms are beautiful...you cannot go wrong with any...the apartments sleep 4
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneli891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience in this place with so much history and an interesting conversion from being the boatshed on the island, A wonderful book in the honesty bar area is worth a read as you sit in a spectacular setting

This hotel is only staffed from 7am to 7pm but the perception is that you have wonderful service and that you are really treated as a friend rather than a guest, There is no meals provided in the hotel but why compete when you have ile de pain next door for breakfast and many locations within short walking distance for meals. Alternatively you have facilities to cook your own meal in the 2 bedroom suite we were allocated.

The hotel provides bikes which we used to cycle safely round part of the lagoon and a canoe. There is adequate parking some covered under the rooms on the west side of the hotel or off the street leading down to the hotel reception. The area appeared very safe to us and we walked around at night.

The swimming pool is small but facing west is a lovely place to sit in the early evening watching the boating and birdlife activity on the lagoon and if you are lucky spotting the resident seal splashing in the water in front of you

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms in this converted boatshed only a couple of which have a full lagoon view so review what you want before booking
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveandjenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at The Lofts Hotel this weekend and it was great! Stunning setting, great service and lovely rooms. we will definately be back! The hotel is within walking distance from good coffee shops, restaurants and shops. It is also within walking distance from the Knysna Waterfront.

Room Tip: Lagoon facing rooms are great!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knysn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews