We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Building- friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
queensland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting Building- friendly service”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Interesting use of an ex Boat Shed. Comfortable facilities that met our needs. Walls between rooms were not terribly well insulated so noise from other areas in the building was noticeable.A very roomy terrace - very useful if the weather had been warmer and us there longer. Nice common areas for relaxing and having a glass of wine after a busy day touring. Breakfast was by way of a voucher for local establishments which was convenient and worked well for us . Enabled us to enjoy somewhere different each morning. Restaurants both on the island and across the bridge were walkable and a good variety. Recommend highly the 'Sirocco'Restaurant close by on the island. Good food and great
service!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    102
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
69
184
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

If you want to stay in Knysna near the sea, then this is your choice. It's a renovated boatshed on Thesen Island and you can walk to just about anything you need. The lounge offers games and a computer for guest use (nice for those who don't carry electronics) and an honor bar. Snacks and sherry at the front door. Nice staff and very comfortable, albeit not huge, rooms. All 4 of use enjoyed our stay. We used the lounge nightly and once we figured out the advantages of the breakfast vouchers rather than breakfast in house, we really enjoyed them too - you get to choose what kind of breakfast experience and where you want to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is a beautiful place. The room is spacious with open plan bathroom with bath and shower. The room has 3 sliding doors/windows that gave an unobscured view over the lagoon. There is a small communal lounge with honesty bar. Good selection of wines, beers and cold drinks, as well as nespresso coffee. The staff are friendly and helpful and always smiling. It might be different from the norm,but we thought the breakfast vouchers were a great idea, and we had a lovely breakfast at mon petit pain. All in all a great weekend stay, and would love to return.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Loved staying 2 nights here! Friendly, very comfortable, quirky hotel/apartment! Staying on the island was beautiful. Great restaurants, beautiful sunsets and a feeling of serenity! Watched the fog roll in through the headlands and sit over the harbour - magic! Husband went mountain biking with a guide into the forests! Hotel made arrangements and he was collected from the front door. Beautiful break away on our first South African trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We only stayed 1 night in the 2 bed apartment but wished we could have stayed longer to make use of all the facilities. Hotel has a fantastic location overlooking the lagoon with a small plunge pool for communal use and onsite spa as well as the most friendly staff you could wish for in a hotel. The design of The Lofts in the old boatshed is a brilliant and unique concept and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Decor around the hotel is of the highest standards and has been designed with a sea/beach theme which is fantastic. No restaurant but plenty near by. Breakfast at Il de Pain is very very good as is dinner at The Olive Tree in Knysna main street. Also Thessen Island (which is where the Lofts are situated) has many boat excursions if you fancy it.

Definately a 5* hotel and I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

what a fantastic place to stay...we were in one of their apartments overlooking the lagoon and it was gorgeous...we were there 2 nights and I could have easily stayed there for a week!!The satff were so helpful and friendly...this is the place to stay when going to Kysna...there is no restaurant on the premises...but this does not matter as there are plenty of excellent restaurants in the vicinity. there is also an excellent spa..there is a lounge are with free internet access and there is a good selection of wines etc available to guests on an honor basis...a truly enjoyable stay..anne e joyce

Room Tip: all of the bedrooms are beautiful...you cannot go wrong with any...the apartments sleep 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneli891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience in this place with so much history and an interesting conversion from being the boatshed on the island, A wonderful book in the honesty bar area is worth a read as you sit in a spectacular setting

This hotel is only staffed from 7am to 7pm but the perception is that you have wonderful service and that you are really treated as a friend rather than a guest, There is no meals provided in the hotel but why compete when you have ile de pain next door for breakfast and many locations within short walking distance for meals. Alternatively you have facilities to cook your own meal in the 2 bedroom suite we were allocated.

The hotel provides bikes which we used to cycle safely round part of the lagoon and a canoe. There is adequate parking some covered under the rooms on the west side of the hotel or off the street leading down to the hotel reception. The area appeared very safe to us and we walked around at night.

The swimming pool is small but facing west is a lovely place to sit in the early evening watching the boating and birdlife activity on the lagoon and if you are lucky spotting the resident seal splashing in the water in front of you

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms in this converted boatshed only a couple of which have a full lag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandjenUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Property: The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing