We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The concept is wonderful in that they converted an old Boat Shed into a 'Hotel' and shops. Decor was lovely and the bed comfortable, however we had one of the Lofts rooms and they all overlook a parking lot with a small glimpse of the water. To our surprise the Hotel does not have a restaurant attached to it, however they cleverly partnered up with several restaurants on Thesen Island as well as in Knysna town offering guests a change of dining options. This is something which we both truly enjoyed as we were able to taste several restaurants! The staff were friendly and assisted when asked.

Area of improvement though : the walls dividing the rooms are super thin! We were able to hear our neighbors throughout the night and I assume so could they - whether they were in bed or on the toilet! There are certain things one would not like to hear! For a 4* hotel I find that unacceptable and hope that the management will sort this issue out soonest.

Room Tip: If you wish to have water views we recommend booking on the the Tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    95
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
67
174
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were pleasantly surprised how creatively the rooms have been decorated. We enjoyed the under floor heating, arriving on a cold & Rainy winter's night.
the unit was comfortable and the views was stunning. It was also close to the nearest restaurants, where we enjoyed a wonderful seafood platter.
definitely a must for travellers.

Room Tip: Self catering units overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at The Lofts for a long weekend, and booked after much internet searching, and finally on a recommendation from friends.

The location on the island is beautiful with uninterrupted views out to the edge of the lagoon. Within walking distance to several restaurants and bars makes it an easy location for just checking in and not worrying about having to drive anywhere.

The building has been done up beautifully, with the most made of the space available. A comfortable bed, nice linens and a well equipped kitchen all add up to a nice apartment. However there are several really big issues with this property;
1) the property is set perpendicular to the view so only the short end of the building has views. Every single other apartment in the building has views of the car-parks on either side of the building. 2) the external windows are small and at the short end of the apartments, so the apartments are dark at all times of the day, and 3) the walls between the apartments and to the internal section of the building are soooo thin! My husband is generally very easy going but it drove him to distraction and he ended up having several shouting matches with other residents to get them to be quiet so we could sleep. Of all the unforgivable things in hospitality this (in my opinion) is the worst.

Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Take your earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom for 3 nights here.

This hotel is right on the lagoon on the Thesen island. I loved being on this beautiful little island. It was very peaceful and felt very safe. We walked around the island, and walked to restaurants at night.

The building itself had an interesting structure and decor. The furnishings were modern, we also had a kitchen and sitting room area. My kids just loved being in the upstairs loft room.

The staff were friendly and helpful. We used their honor system bar for drinks and snacks. The hotel manager recommended the Olive Tree restaurant to us, and that was an excellent restaurant. I highly recommend it. It is only a short drive from the hotel, maybe 5 minutes or so, just outside of the island.

I did have one problem here. They gave me free wifi account, but this account kept run out of "data" on me. The first night, the account was depleted within 5 or 10 minutes. The next day I got a new account from them. But on the 3rd day, it ran out of data usage again. Since the office closed at 7PM, I could not use internet for those 2 nights. I was only using the wifi for checking emails, google for activities for the next day etc, nothing data intensive.

I hope they will improve the way they provide their free wifi to guests in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is was my second stay at The Lofts which is a very unusual and quaint boutique hotel.
This time we booked one of their self-catering units. Our unit consisted of two bedrooms and a common lounge. It was extremely comfortable and beautifully furnished. Our unit did not have a Lagoon view but it have a little balcony. One of the self-catering units is a bit strange in that the main bedroom is part of the kitchen and the entrance has the cupboards and toilet & shower. I wouldn't recommend this unit. The common lounges had lovely views especially the one upstairs. The service was very good. We loved breakfast at Ille le Pain and also at the Turbine Hotel. Thesens Island was very quiet as we were there off season in the middle of winter. You can easily walk to the Knysna Waterfront where there are a number of restaurants and shops. I loved the heated towel rails, undercarpet heating in addition to the airconditioning and heaters.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YasminaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

With a bit of trepidation, I booked at the Lofts Botique Hotel in Knysna. My previous experiences on Theesen Island have not been great and I have generally viewed the hotels and amenities on the island as catering to the pompous crowd that appreciate being seen rather than true quality of accommodation. So what a surprise when we were greeted with down to earth hospitality that just blew us away.

From the moment that we were met to our departure we were made to feel so special without feeling that the staff were in any way intrusive. The feeling that you were at home was just there. The art of making you feel that you are the only guest is what really makes a place special, and if this is done in a non pretentious way, then you have a winner.

The room we stayed in was beautifully furnished, well apportioned and cosy. Although we did not have a direct view of the lagoon, our verandah was spacious and certainly lent itself to relaxing. The honesty bar both in the room and in the lounge certainly echoed the principle that you are at home.

Breakfast vouchers allowed us to enjoy one of the best breakfast venues I have ever been too Ile de Pain. This just end added to the wow factor.

Wrapping it all up was the use of the Spa where we were treated to the most professional relaxing treatments. Dedicated, professional staff, incredible location and great facilities ensured we were wowed again!

All in all this is one that you have to try.

Room Tip: The lagoon facing tower rooms have the most incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Interesting use of an ex Boat Shed. Comfortable facilities that met our needs. Walls between rooms were not terribly well insulated so noise from other areas in the building was noticeable.A very roomy terrace - very useful if the weather had been warmer and us there longer. Nice common areas for relaxing and having a glass of wine after a busy day touring. Breakfast was by way of a voucher for local establishments which was convenient and worked well for us . Enabled us to enjoy somewhere different each morning. Restaurants both on the island and across the bridge were walkable and a good variety. Recommend highly the 'Sirocco'Restaurant close by on the island. Good food and great
service!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.2 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
6.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Property: The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing