We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Honeymoon Experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Quite a while ago now but stayed here in 2009 for our honeymoon, really friendly and efficient staff, lovely rooms and breakfast. Fantastic spa experience too. Really recommended!
Lovely views from the rooms over the lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Yorkit,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for The Lofts Boutique Hotel.

It is so amazing to see that after 5 years since you were here for your honeymoon that you still remember how special it was staying in the Exclusive Lagoon Suite, the friendly team and remembering your fantastic spa experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for an anniversary or a romantic weekend away.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    102
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
69
184
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Always a home from home, no hassle no fuss, just a great break at the end of a busy day. Access, booking and arrival is easy, staff are always welcoming me back and genuinely interested and helpful. EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Christopher M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review.

Our team pride themselves in making you feel welcome and like you are at your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Perfect location, lovely views, peaceful stay, friendly staff, fantastic rooms, very handy having the self catering facilities with children. Loved our stay, it was a dream hotel!
Will definitely stay there again when we go back to Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin-and-Celine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kevin-and-Celine,

Thank you for taking the time to write you short and sweet review.

You summed up your experience very well and we are happy to see you will be returning on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed for 2 nights. The room I stayed in was stunning (1B). It was spacious with amazing views over the water. There is a balcony all around with outdoor table and chairs so you can sit and watch the Sunset or the passing boats. There was a lovely big bath in the room with floor heating. Very nice Decor. Because this room is above reception you do hear people coming and going but it's not too bad. A beautiful tranquil spot, I will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jackster17,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for The Lofts Boutique Hotel.

Our Exclusive Lagoon Suites are amazing especially 1B with its wrap around balcony. There is no better place to be to experience the beauty of the Knysna Lagoon. All of our rooms are beautifully decorated to give our guests the best. This is why staying at The Lofts is so unique because every room has a different theme giving guests a choice when they choose the accommodation type.

We hope to accommodate you again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the Lofts. The room looked out on to the bay, and was large and airy. The most modern conveniences were also available. Upon arrival we were offered a glass of port which was a nice touch! I would definitely make another trip to the Lofts when we next go back to South Africa!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear James A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for The Lofts Boutique Hotel.

The views from the Exclusive Lagoon Suites are exceptionally beautiful especially during sunset and when it is high tide. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities available to you in your room as well as the unique touch of a glass of port on arrival.

We hope to accommodate you again soon in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This review will be shorter than my first review of this wonderful boutique hotel. All I can say is if you want to stay in Knysna, and you want 4 star, and you want excellent service, and you want well appointed, clean, modern rooms, and you want friendly staff, and you want a lounge that you can relax in and watch a bit of TV, or read a book while you help yourself to the honesty bar and look out on the beauty of the Knynsa lagoon, then really, why check in anywhere else?? Not only are the rooms interesting and comfortable, and if you get a 2 bedroomed unit there is more space than you really need, but you have a choice of 2 guest lounges, 1 upstairs and 1 downstairs (with bar/coffee machine/TV/DVD) both lounges come with views thrown in. This trip I was keen on spending more time relaxing at the hotel and I found it a very pleasant and quiet place to be. Every time I visited the ground floor lounge I found I had the whole place to myself. Rhoda and her staff are welcoming and really go out of their way to make you feel like you are arriving at your personal holiday house instead of at a hotel. Thanks Rhoda, you know the Coopers will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear PT Cooper,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for The Lofts Boutique Hotel.

Wow, it is really great receiving such a wonderful review as our team truly pride themselves in making your stay unique and comfortable. Referring to The Lofts as your own personal holiday home is exactly the feeling we want to create for our guests. It is great that you used the facilities available and we would suggest using the bicycles to ride to the Waterfront or to town or around Thesen Islands and taking the canoe out for a paddle on the Knysna Lagoon next time you are staying with us, that is if you have not tried this yet.

We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grabouw, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay. Stunning hotel and friendly and helpfull staff. Will highly recommend. Near town and restaurants. We stayed in self catering room had everything we needed. Wont ever stay in town after we experiencec Thessen Island. Nice area and peacefull.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoftsThesen, Manager at The Lofts Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Marina V,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for The Lofts Boutique Hotel.

Our team loves getting feedback from guests and hearing that you found the team friendly and helpful is wonderful news as they pride themselves in making your stay memorable.

Thesen Islands is a wonderful area to be situated in and having the calmness of the water around you certainly adds to the relaxed feeling.

We hope to accommodate you again soon.

Kind Regards
The Lofts Boutique Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.3 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Property: The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing