We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Pezula(Knysna)
US$212
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
US$192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Country House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
222
114
35
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
114
35
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsile de painthesen islandbreakfast vouchersharbour townself cateringbreakfast is servedunderfloor heatinggarden routeour room was spaciouswe loved our staythe ground floorgreat roomenjoyable stayoystersoverlooking the lagoonamazing viewsstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Beautiful view; that was the positive part. About the room: the design of the room was terrible. The designer took more effort in the design than in functionality. Everything but the toilet was in one room.
Our check in was handled in a rush. The staff was very friendly, but on two occasions they failed to pass us information in time and on one occasion they gave us wrong information about the costs of a trip with an external guide, which gave us a very uneasy feeling. Of course we paid the full amount.

Furthermore, the reception desk was unmanned after 19.30; guests had to rely on a telephone number in case of any questions or an emergency. Finally, for a 4-star hotel one would expect the breakfast to be inclusive of the hotel rate without any additional costs; the concept of a breakfast voucher of R 50 is, in our view, unprofessional. The breakfast was not even in the hotel itself, except on Mondays. If Mondays are possible, why not offer your guests breakfast in the hotel during the whole week?

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We really had a lovely time in the lofts. It's a small place, across the bridge from Knysna on Thesen island. It was quiet when we were there, but it was low season. The area is really safe, a few boutiques nearby and on the lower floor of the guesthouse, and some nice restaurants.

We were a walk-in group and they gave us two lovely rooms. There is a nice set of self-service bars in this place, with really nice views over the water. There are boardgames and cards in the bars.

The breakfast was very good, great selection of muffins, cold meats, cheese, fruit on a buffet table, and a hot breakfast available too.

I had a chest infection and asked for directions to a lcoal doctor to get some medication (didn't want to wreck my holiday letting it get worse). The really helpful receptionist booked the appointment for me (on a sunday!), drew directions and was really really helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pwurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We stayed here for one night in August as it was mentioned in a guide book. The rooms were all nicely decorated with balconies. It is located on Thesen Island (just across the bridge from Knysna) which has a number of restaurants and interesting shops all within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We walked past it and decided to stay there.
Beautiful view, peaceful and well designed. The girls at reception were extremely nice- upgraded the room (without us asking!) and gave us great recommendation for exploring the place.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank I8A4RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Location: The Lofts is a boutique hotel in a refurbished boatshed, overlooking Knysna lagoon. It is on Thesen Island in the middle of the lagoon, and connected by a roadbridge to the mainland. It is pertinently just under a mile away from the main waterfront area of Knysna. Thesen Island itself is a new tourist and residential development. As such, it is very quiet, clean, and also devoid of life! There are some restaurants and shops, but I don't recommend spending much time here (head out to the waterfront or to other towns). A friend and I spent one night here.
Service: The hotel has free parking adjacent to it. Otherwise we encountered one member of staff during our one-night stay - the receptionist who was there until 7:30pm. Then we make our own way in with a hotel key. She tried to be helpful, but was not that useful for finding out about local amenities. The room was immaculate upon entering. The receptionist also gives a 50R voucher per person for breakfast next-door at Ile de Pain, a nice little bakery/cafe to start the day in.
Room: The standard 'luxury loft' room we had was beautifully furnished with modern paintings, modern appliances and very comfortable twin beds. It had a separate bathroom (bath/shower) and a large balcony with sun-loungers. I'm not sure what the previous reviewer TimmyT means by 'everything but the toilet' was in one room, but presumably he was in a honeymoon suite?
Overall, it is definitely a great place to stay, although the surroundings may get boring after a few hours!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Worldlywisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews