We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lofty heights only partly reached”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lofty heights only partly reached”
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We stayed here for only one night (3 April 2009) during our trip along the Garden Route.

Your experience here probably depends on the room you get, its decor and the view, with each room having its own particular theme.

The positives of this place were:
* good directions on the website
* friendly and helpful staff – they even let us use the internet in their office the morning we checked out
* it was a clean place (notwithstanding the initial slight musty dried water smell that you can get in places near the water)
* nice modern bathroom
* there was a small balcony should you want to sit outside
* easy walking distance to Thesen Island restaurants and boutiques
* next door to the delicious Ile De Pain cafe and near the Knysna Oyster Company which had the nicest oysters we ever tasted!
* plenty of car parking

The negatives were:
* our room (2B we think) was a bit small and the only outside view was of some roofs!
* our room was also next to the laundry so you could hear the odd bump and thump from there
* the breakfast voucher for Ile De Pain was only for 100 Rand which doesn't always buy you a complete breakfast
* the car parking spaces were a little tight, this made parking difficult

Maybe if you stay here you should ask for a room with a view of the lagoon. This would probably make a big difference to your stay.

Looking at the shops and restaurants, Thesen Island is obviously targeted at a well-off clientele - you certainly won't hear the beat of jungle drums here!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    101
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
68
183
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Stayed here for two nights in one of the upper rooms. the room was large, the location on the Island was good. There is a good nearby restaurant (cirroco?)..good food. A good base from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We did stay in room 8 which one of the previous reviewers warned against. There was a lot of noise from an air conditioning unit next door. We complained to reception about this and it was dealt with straight away. The receptionist was very apologetic. The following day we had a note of apology in our room and some chocolate ! I think one of the other rooms would have been better as there must be some that face the water , but all in all we had a pleasant stay. Breakfast at the Ile de Pain is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stylishexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

we spent 2 nights here in nov after being recommended to us by friends. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed. Unfortunately the pool was not very clean. Breakfast is served at one of two local cafes - you get a voucher for up to R140 per couple - Il de pain nextdoor was fantastic for breakfast -def recommend. unfortunately this was closed on the second morning so we had to go to Jamie Blue - service was very poor here and we were very disappointed. The standard of accommodation -esp guesthouses and B&Bs is so high that you really don't need to spend this amount of money for an 'average' hotel...there are better places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiltzManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I can only assume that all the very positive reviews came from guests that stayed in the 'front part' of the hotel.

The place is definitely quirky and original. We were thrilled when we checked in. Unfortunately, our room was at the very end of the corridor, and was directly on top of the bakery/cafe. Thus, there was a permenent smell of baked bread. Believe it or not, this can be quite annoying after the first hour or so. Even opening the window did not help.

Unfortunately, it got worse. At about 5 am, the bakery staff arrive and from then onwards, you can hear the sound of the oven doors opening; pots banging and timers going off.

I would suggest to the hotel management that they simply charge a lesser amount for these rooms, as they are vastly inferior to the others (they do not have a balcony either as do all the other rooms).

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Upon arriving to The Lofts and seeing our room, my husband and I both wished we were spending more than just one night there. This is the ultimate place to relax--our room had a huge balcony with two memory-foam reclining lounge chairs. The entire hotel has a very serene and calming marine theme, as it is built into an old boatshed--the old beams are visible throughout the rooms and common areas. The building is white wood to matches the seaside look of the other buildings on Thesen Island.

Positives:
-- Rooms are sparkling clean, with very comfortable beds and furniture
-- Beautiful modern bathrooms with tile and glass shower
-- Breakfast coupons for Ile de Pain bistro around the corner
-- Free parking
-- Spa, massage, and exercise facilities/courses on site

Negatives:
-- Obstructed ocean view from rooms; need to go to common lounge areas for full ocean view
-- Front desk closes at 19:30, so if you arrive late, you need to call the management to let you in (not an easy thing to do when you are traveling abroad and have a cell phone that only works in your home country, and there's no one else around to help you

The hotel's location on Thesen Island makes it one of the most exclusive spots in Knysna--very quiet and isolated, without being too far from any of the dining, activities, and nightlife in Knysna proper. The perfect place to chill out, relax, and absorb the cool sea breeze all day! May be better suited for younger travelers and couples traveling without children. The photos on their website do not do justice to the rooms!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargirlssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Reception "LuLu" was very welcoming and showed me around. The room was quiet and ideally suited for one with a huge balcony. The hotel is centrally located on Theusen Island in walking distance of resturants and little shops. Sunday there is a local craft market.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank futterCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.1 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.7 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
6.3 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts Boutique Hotel

Property: The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Address: The Boatshed | Long Street, Thesen Harbour Town, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Business Hotel in Knysna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lofts Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lofts Boutique Hotel is housed in the old Boatshed on Thesen Islands, Knysna. The refurbished building with its architectural design gives The Lofts Boutique Hotel an individuality which is also reflected in the difference in the Luxury Loft Rooms & Self catering apartments’ decor. Our accommodation consists of 3 lagoon suites with uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the lagoon, 7 luxury loft rooms and 5 luxury 2-bedroom suites all overlooking the beautiful architecture of Thesen Harbour Town. We also offer our guests a beautiful splash pool to laze around on sunny days & a martini bar lounge area where you can relax with a cup of coffee in the morning or enjoy a drink while watching the sun set in the afternoon.Our friendly service will spoil you and will make your stay memorable. Visit the privately owned spa and pamper yourself with luxurious treatments or stroll through The Boatshed and enjoy the unique shops open for you to experience or enjoy a superb meal at famous île de païn bread café, one of South Africa’s top ten restaurants.The location on the waters’ edge provides our guests with a tranquil relaxing experience. Here you will enjoy the serenity of an island, the magnificent views of the surrounding green hills and the power of nature expressed by the changing moods of the lagoon.The Lofts Boutique Hotel will be your most memorable escape to date! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Lofts Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lofts Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing