We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet location with great view of the lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hide Away Guest House
Ranked #12 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quiet location with great view of the lagoon”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for 2 days in early April on the recommendation of a relative. We had a lovely time - a quiet location just off the main road with a great view of the lagoon from our room and breakfast on the balcony overlooking the lagoon. It's only a 5 minute drive to restaurants on the waterfront. Colleen and Cecil made us very welcome.

We'd happily stay there again and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Richard

Thank you for taking the time to do the review on your stay with us at Hide-Away Guest House and we hope to see you back in Knysna and at Hide-Away at some time in the not too distant future.

Take care and kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    94
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
264
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Hide Away Guest House was an excellent choice for an overnight stay in Knysna - friendly, helpful and knowledgeable hosts, a very comfortable room and an excellent breakfast. The views looking across the lagoon to the Heads change constantly with the shifting of the sun, and bring a tranquil ambiance to the whole experience. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CapeTownTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Good morning to you

We were delighted to receive the review and look forward to having you return to stay with us. We love having returning guests!

Take care and kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our third visit to Hide Away! Home from home. Once again Colleen and Cecil were the perfect hosts. Cecil certainly knows his way around the kitchen and the breakfasts are amazing. Colleen, always able to suggest wonderful places to visit and exotic restaurants to whet the appetite. Thank you for booking our tables for us..it certainly gave us peace of mind knowing we could go out and enjoy the day without stressing about dinner arrangements. The view from Hide Away is amazing and perfectly situated to walk to the local shopping mall and Waterfront....this, God willing, will certainly not be our last visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison-Peta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Alison & Gary

It is always a pleasure having you guys stay with us. The fact that you used to live in Knysna years ago - and know your way around - and that you continue to return to stay with us means that we are meeting your expectations!

Hope you had a safe trip back to Johannesburg - don't envy you on the bike but then again we know you guys love the open road!

Take care and look forward to your next visit.

Cheerio
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay during Eastern weekend. Got good tips where to go and what to do. Perfect breakfast outside on the terrace of our room. Ver nice view over the lake. Felt very welcome by the excellent host Colleen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HollandAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Property is excellent and is in a easily locatable domicile.The facilities both in the reception area and in the individual rooms are superb.The property is very neat.The car parking area need some improvements.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Churchill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Churchill

Thank you for the review on your very short stay with us earlier this month. We hope that you were able to recharge your batteries before returning to work.

Your comment regarding the car park is noted but we would point out to future guests that we have sufficient parking for our 7 rooms, i.e. 7 vehicles, and if everybody parks in their allocated space there are no problems with the parking. You may have found it problematic as you were driving a great big 4 x 4 Bakkie and the chap next to you had taken some of your space.

We hope to see you back at Hide-Away when you next need a break or passing through on your busy schedule.

Kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This is the place to stay at in Knysna.
Very clean rooms. Extraordinary breakfast which even got served on our balcony over viewing the lagoon.
Very friendly owners who are very helpful. Great advice where to eat out and events and trips in the area.

Devenetly comming back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello Martina

Thank you so much for the great review.

We are delighted to see that you intend returning at some time in the future. It will be great to see you again!

Take care and kind regards
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked to stay at the Hide Away Guest House for one night on a drive from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth.... its a shame we couldnt stay for longer!

The Guest House is on the main road but tucked back and therefore noise is not a problem. Upon arrival we were greated by our delightful hosts Colleen and Cecil who immediately offered us cup of tea and coffee. First impressions are important and this place did not fail to impress.

We had booked the cheapest room we could for one night. The room was clean and spacious with Tea/Coffee/Fridge and ensuite. The room had French doors that opened to the rear of the property. The views from the front rooms looked amazing.

There was a great choice at breakfast and it was made to order - fruits, juice, cerals, yoghurts and a full fry up. You can make your mind up what you would like for breakfast the night before.

Its about a 15-20 minute walk to the Harbour (although its not recommended to walk there at night). The Town is delightful with plenty of things to see and do. Colleen and Cecil were great at making recommendations for both food and activities.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajlowe444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayKnysna, Owner at Hide Away Guest House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Good day to you from Knysna!

Thank you indeed for the comprehensive review on your very short stay with us earlier this year. It was great chatting to you and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time here in South Africa.

Next time you plan a visit to our part of the world, please stay a bit longer than just the one night. There is loads to do in and around Knysna and we are sure that you would find many things of interest plus you need to try out the many restaurants we have to offer in the town.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards.
Cecil & Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
5.4 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.1 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 126 in Knysna
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 126 in Knysna
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oyster Creek Lodge
Oyster Creek Lodge
#13 of 126 in Knysna
242 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hide Away Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Guest House

Property: Hide Away Guest House
Address: 2 Keerom Street | PO Box 2600, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hide Away Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hide-Away Guest House, a 4 Star TGCSA graded B&B, located on the Main Road into Knysna with excellent lagoon views and within walking distance of town. 7 well appointed en-suite rooms ranging from Executive with lagoon view to Standard with no lagoon view cater for most budgets. Free wireless internet, air conditioning in all rooms and gym facility. Seasonal rates apply.Make Hide-Away Guest House your home-away-from-home on the Garden Route as you explore the area. Easy driving distances to Tsitsikamma National Park, Plettenberg Bay, Wilderness, George, Oudtshoorn and Mossel Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hide Away Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Guest House Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing