We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but not spectacular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellowwood Lodge
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Adequate but not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

Yellowwood Lodge is pleasant enough, but very much has the atmosphere of a 70s B&B in Blackpool or Torquay. The reception we had was friendly enough and the rooms were reasonably comfortable, but the accommodation felt quite dated and was not somewhere to spend too much time. Particularly off-putting was the ancient combination gas boiler in the bathroom, which seemed to supply the hot water for the bath and shower.

The town centre and the quays are within easy walking distance and indeed Knysna is pretty safe such that a walk to the quays is a realistic proposition.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but like most other things here perfectly adequate.

Not a highlight of our stay, but equally nothing intrinsically wrong.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Very dated decor and furnishings
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW19Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2008

we have often gone to south africa to visit family, and visiting knysna is our little treat. we love the lagoon and the vibrant vibe of the town. Yellowwood lodge has been our usual spot. the comfort of having a place walking distance from town and with such a loving family running the place simply does it for us. we have enjoyed our time at the pool and on the veranda overlooking the most gorgeous view of the town and lagoon. the rooms are spacious and delightful.so far we have never stayed in the same room and can tell you that each one is different, with its own little charm. we are looking forward to our next visit this april. thanx anna and ernest for making our holidays that much more enjoyable

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank suefernandez78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

The last December my husband and I stayed in the Yellowwood Lodge for three nights . We stayed in a double room with balcony . The bathroom had a bath and a shower , they service the room everyday and they also changed towels everyday . The room had a kettle , fridge, glasses , tea cups . The lagoon could be seen from the balcony . We had a delicious breakfast in the garden . Very friendly and helpful staff . And smething that was very convinient for us , we could wa;k to town and the waterfront
We had our laundry done on the same day

  • Liked — location / neat
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

My husband and I stayed here late last year (06/07) for four nights and were given the top room in the property at the front of the house. The views of the heads and lagoon were spectacular, and although the property was in need of some updating, it's location to the town centre was what we were after.

This year we returned again, and we couldn't help but notice how much more tired the house/rooms were and the garden was a bit unkempt. We had my parents with us, and they found negotiating the foot paths a bit tricky, especially when wet or at night. Breakfast was average, the fresh fruit was not very good and some of the fruit provided was tinned!! We felt that no further investment was being made by the current owners and they were just keeping it 'ticking over'. Also it was our first experience of a B&B/Guest House that did not have resident 'owners/managers'. So each night they would pack up and go. If there was an emergency, there wasn't anyone on site and you had to phone a mobile number.

Again we were on the top floor at the front of the house. I couldn't help but think this time, how would we escape in case of fire. There was no clear route except jumping from the first floor windows. The bathroom suite has to be at least 20+ years old. This is an average to below average guest house and not what we have come to expect from Guest Houses in South Africa.

  • Liked — views of the heads and lagoon if you are in the right room
  • Disliked — breakfast and sloppy cleaning
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kckaceykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knysna hotels

Hamburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2007

We stayed at the Yellowwood Lodge in the separate unit which was perfect for our family of 4. Although I have to admit that on very close inspection, there was some dampness in the floorboards of the bathroom and around the windows, we were happy with our room. The tiles in the actual shower/bathtub stall are a bit crooked but clean. We were provided with clean towels every day and our room was cleaned every day. I would describe the room as slightly rustic but beautiful. The main door did not fit flush to the house and there probably could be some insects that could fit through the 1/4 inch gap but we never saw anything bigger than a tiny spider. There was a separate room for our children, ages 8 and 11 which had a television , sink, fridge, and kettle but this room was only divided by a heavy curtain. The bay can be seen from here if you look really hard through the beautiful trees and foliage. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the breakfast was lovely, and we loved having the extra space this particular room provided as opposed to all of us being squashed in one room in the main building. We stayed there for 4 nights. There is a pool, and a lovely garden area. We had 2 large loads of laundry done here for us and it came back clean and ironed.

  • Liked — The views and location. Easy walk to the waterfront and close to v.good restaraunts.
  • Disliked — The front door
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ldove-gmx.net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2006

I stayed at this B&B in January 2006 and was so disappointed with the accomodations that were provided that I was compelled to write my very first review in this forum. The website for this place looked great but when we arrived our rooms weren't in the lovely old house shown on the internet but in a 1970's addition that was alongside the house. The floor was filthy ( my friend took her shoes off and the bottoms of her feet were black afterwards!), the noise from the nearby highway made sitting on the balcony less than enjoyable (and the view of the lagoon they show on the internet is not the view we got from our room), there was a dead bug on the windowsill that was there for our entire stay, no toilet paper our last day, black mold all over the bathtub, towels were old and musty, never provided us with faceclothes, our balcony was never cleaned while we were there, and I could go on and on. This was the only bad accomodation we had in our 3 week stay in South Africa so I know Knysna has more to offer than the Yellowwood.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel Knysna
Royal Hotel Knysna
#28 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#23 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Russel Hotel
The Russel Hotel
#14 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.4 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#13 of 30 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna – The Moorings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowwood Lodge

Property: Yellowwood Lodge
Address: 18 Handel Street | PO Box 2020, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellowwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowwood Lodge is an exclusive accommodation establishment in Knysna in the heart of South Africa’s world famous Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yellowwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowwood Hotel Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing