We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, charming and relaxng place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amber Guest Lodge
Ranked #36 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, charming and relaxng place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very nice owner, supportive in helping organizing day trips. Room was very spacious only a little bit of noise due to the fact that it is directly situated at a street. But as there are only a view vehicles driving not at all disturbing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
91
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Very good place to stay in Knysna. We stayed there for 4 nights and it was excellent in all aspects, starting from breakfast to room cleanliness. One of the best place to to stay in Knysna. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groenlo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The beautifull room is in a house with 4 more rooms. The man of the house was very friendly and give many ideas to discover Knysna and the surroundings . The only thing you have to know is that a walk to the town is too far, ca 5 kilometer

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottuln, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

It's a pity that we couldn't stay longer...
A nice place, wonderful view off the laguna, friendly welcome, cordial hosts and a delicious breakfast with the best omelet of South Africa.
We got useful advises for every day.
Thank you to Janet and Derek.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rolf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had a very comfortable couple of nights. Very comfy bed, nice large bathroom, nice to have fridge in room. Breakfast extensive and delicious. We liked the location; quiet residential area, but only a few minutes drive to everything. Pool a bit chilly, but nicely positioned to get sun most of day. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Knysna.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We very much enjoyed staying here! Derek and his wife are great hosts. The atmosphere is very warm, breakfast is excellent, the rooms are modern, friendly and very clean. We can also recommend Mo's - a nice garden restaurant close to Amber guest lodge if you want to go out for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kerstin103 S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in Amber three times and each time we were very sad to leave. First, the location is spectacular. Even though it is not in the down town area, it is on a sunny and worm side of the hill. The view from each room is amazing, especially in the morning. Second, the breakfast is great. You have a menu to choose from and some fresh pastry every morning. You gotta try Janet's whole gain blueberry muffins. They are to die for! Third, the people that own the place, Janet and Derek, are extremely nice and knowledgable of Knysna and thus very helpful with their advice concerning sightseeings and other things to do around the town.

Amber is very clean, nice and tidy. Any time I come to Knysna, Amber will be my number 1 choice of B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
2.6 mi away
Graywood Hotel
Graywood Hotel
#22 of 30 in Knysna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#14 of 129 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.8 mi away
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
AestAs Bed & Breakfast
#52 of 129 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Guest Lodge

Property: Amber Guest Lodge
Address: 11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Pezula & Knysna golf courses. Only minutes from the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle. Three Luxury Rooms en-suite, One family unit with two bedrooms and a sleeper couch (sleeps 5) and our Honeymoon / Executive Suite with lounge/dining area with two 3/4 sleeper sofas. All rooms have fridge, TV, DVD player, hair dryer, heater and fan. All rooms have a separate bedroom and bathroom with large shower cubicle & separate bath, all have private entrances which open onto the pool patio which enjoys panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and the distant Mountains. There is a communal kitchen in our dining room where you can prepare a snack or light meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amber Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing