We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knysna B&B”
Review of Amber Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Guest Lodge
Ranked #39 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wonderful stay with attentive owners who advised where to eat in the evenings. Accomodation was very nice, and breakfasts were lovely. The house was easy to find from directions supplied, and within easy reach of Knysna and environs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nohotash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much. We try our hardest to make your stay a pleasant one. Glad we succeeded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Amber Guest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a pleasant stay at Amber Guest Lodge. Very friendly and cooperative. Excellent location to see the Heads and surroundings. Breakfast was also a party! We stayed with 2 adults and 2 kids (14 & 11), they also liked it very much. (DVD's, swimming pool)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Carlijn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

cleanest accomodation on our trip in South Africa, very good breakfast, very nice hosts, we only stayed one night, pool was a bit cold, very nice view on the lagoon, children liked the dog, very silent

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BAS605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very nice B7B with nice, spacy rroms, very complete bathroom. Clean.
Beautiful views. You can sit outside in front of your room or at the pool.
Owners are very helpfull with information.
Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I booked here thinking it was at the Heads, but no matter, very close to Heads and overlooking lagoon. Very welcoming and charming hosts with a very sweet welcome from their boxer dog. Learnt that hostess walks spca dogs in the mornings - wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Friendly atmosphere . Breakfast was excellent and in a beautiful setting on the open porch overlooking the harbor. Rooms were very clean and well kept. Good reccomendations were made on places to eat in the Knsyna area.


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We only stayed one night and would definitely come here again. The owner, Derek looked after us as soon as we arrived and made some coffee to welcome us. The rooms were immaculate, very modern and spacious. And the pool was very clean and inviting. The breakfast was fantastic with fresh pastries and lots of choices for cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanDerek, Owner at Amber Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#7 of 127 in Knysna
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
TwoAngels Guest House
TwoAngels Guest House
#7 of 106 in Knysna
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#16 of 127 in Knysna
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 127 in Knysna
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#11 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Found
Paradise Found
#30 of 127 in Knysna
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Guest Lodge

Address: 11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Pezula & Knysna golf courses. Only minutes from the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle. Three Luxury Rooms en-suite, One family unit with two bedrooms and a sleeper couch (sleeps 5) and our Honeymoon / Executive Suite with lounge/dining area with two 3/4 sleeper sofas. All rooms have fridge, TV, DVD player, hair dryer, heater and fan. All rooms have a separate bedroom and bathroom with large shower cubicle & separate bath, all have private entrances which open onto the pool patio which enjoys panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and the distant Mountains. There is a communal kitchen in our dining room where you can prepare a snack or light meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing