We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place To Stay In Knysna”
Review of Amber Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Guest Lodge
Ranked #39 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We booked this guest lodge because of the rave reviews in Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The place is immaculate, the hosts superb and having a lovely breakfast outside next ot the pool and overlooking the bay was just delightful. There is free off-road parking and WiFi, and their recommendations on restaurants were spot on. We stayed here on our way from Cape Town to the Addo and Schotia game reserves and on our way back, and would not hesitate to stay here again. The guest house is on Duthie Drive near The Heads, just past Marr Road.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClearViewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2010

Janet and Derek are most welcoming, and prepared to help and give great tips for all your travel needs, not only in Knysna but also the surrounding areas and beyond.
We were travelling as a group of golfers and AMBER guest Lodge were able to secure great deals at the surrounding courses, we can all throughly recommend Simola for spectacular views and of Jack Nicklaus's finest inland courses, as well as the very beautiful, Gary Player designed Goose Valley.
Janet provides an awesome breakfast, is a great cook and is constantly baking.
We couldn't have found a better place to stay, far better than any of the local hotels, we can thoroughly recommend, and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanBTotteridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The Lodge is situated in a suburban location with easy access from the highway. The rooms are extremely spacious and well appointed. All the rooms are offered a wonderful view of the harbour. The gardens and the pool bring a very nice touch to the surroundings. Our hosts were very helpful with recommendations for dining, sights to see and with driving directions.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strathy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Impeccably clean, modern, beautiful B&B with Knysna lagoon view. Thanks to Janet and Derek for their warm hospitality, advice, and “a little bit of extra” that you need so desperately in a foreign country.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Janet and Derek had plenty of useful advice about the area, activities and dining options. Their guest lodge looks out over Knysna and you can watch the sunset from your own patio table or from the small leisure pool. Janet gave us a welcome bottle of wine and prepared us an early breakfast on our last day, even getting up early herself to make us muffins - she and Derek genuinely cared that we enjoyed our stay and what Knysna had to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Service was excellent, we were waited on like royalty and given the most delicious meals to start off each relaxing day. Rooms were spacious, private and set in front of the stunning sunsets over the lagoon. Janet and Derek were very good hosts and I will be sure to visit their guest house again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

It was our first visit to Amber Guest Lodge and we were spoilt rotten from start to finish! Janet and Derek are the most wonderful hosts and made us feel completely at home the whole weekend! Derek's cooked breakfasts are absolutely superb - my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Janet is full of beans and very knowledgeable about what to do whilst visiting the area and the different restaurants to explore. Thank you both very much for a fabulous weekend and we will definitely be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrilsCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.9 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#11 of 129 in Knysna
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pumula Lodge
Pumula Lodge
#18 of 129 in Knysna
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#38 of 129 in Knysna
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#68 of 129 in Knysna
108 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#6 of 129 in Knysna
230 reviews
3.2 mi away
Double Dutch B & B
Double Dutch B & B
#1 of 129 in Knysna
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Guest Lodge

Address: 11 Duthie Drive | Rexford, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £47 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Pezula & Knysna golf courses. Only minutes from the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle. Three Luxury Rooms en-suite, One family unit with two bedrooms and a sleeper couch (sleeps 5) and our Honeymoon / Executive Suite with lounge/dining area with two 3/4 sleeper sofas. All rooms have fridge, TV, DVD player, hair dryer, heater and fan. All rooms have a separate bedroom and bathroom with large shower cubicle & separate bath, all have private entrances which open onto the pool patio which enjoys panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and the distant Mountains. There is a communal kitchen in our dining room where you can prepare a snack or light meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Amber Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing