We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon
Ranked #67 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very good”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a lovely stay here.not so far from attractions,good rooms and beautiful scenery

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelwrere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

If you are ever in Knysna...do stay here!!
Beautiful setting right on the edge of the lagoon which gives off a cooling breeze whilst sunbathing especially if you are like myself who cannot stand too much sun.
The garden is lovely...with a pond where four large birds came to drink several times a day.

The decor of the rooms very nice,complete with sofas and terraces.There is also a self-catering unit if you prefer to do your "own thing".

Nothing is too much trouble for the owner should you require any help at all...he makes everyone feel special..

Please stay here...well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We had a great stay at Point Lodge where RYK and Charles made sure that we enjoyed every single day we were there. We booked a normal room but when they heard we were on honeymoon they moved us to the honeymoon suite for no charge. RYK gave us enough space when we needed it and helped when we needed it. The room was beautiful as well as the bathroom which was a circular room with a old Victorian bath and a large shower.

The room was cleaned everyday when we went out and the breakfast every morning was delicious and the cutlery and decorations were set expertly. RYK personally goes out each morning to pick flowers from his gardens to set the mood.

The swimming pool was clean and the view was incredible as it looked out over the lagoon.

Thank you for a great service and stay, we thoroughly enjoyed it and I can recommend it to anyone going to Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Four of us (2 couples) spent 3 nights here and would highly recommend it. The location was lovely overlooking the lagoon and easy to get in to town (30 minute walk). Everyone very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size, maybe could do with a bit of updating - our shower tray was blocked but was very swiftly fixed. Great breakfasts with a great view. Pool looked good but weather not warm enough to try! Lovely garden and plenty of furnture to relax in the garden

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The accomodations were perfect for us - 2 room suite. Excellent breakfast. Great value.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which is nicely entered through the garden. You have an amazing view over the lagoon, the room is a good size with a two seater sofa, coffee table, fireplace and en-suite. The bathroom with a free-standing bath tub, shower and vanity unit is lovingly decorated.

The Lodge is about 1.5 km away from the marina - you can't walk to the marina but parking spaces are provided.

The breakfast buffet is basic but the owners take great care of you and will offer a cooked breakfast to your preferences.

It's good value for money and we were very happy with our suite

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpediem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed at Point Lodge for 2 nights in January while on our honemoon. It was in a great location so we could easily explore Knysna. There is a pool at the B&B with nice views of the water. The rooms were spacious but a little run down. Service was great - everyone was very friendly. The only real compliant was the shower (we still in the Millwood Cottage). It was either quite cold or too hot...not possible to get a comfortable tempature. If you're traveling on a budget then I would recommend PL, otherwise I might try another B & B in the area that is a bit more updated. Other places we stayed while in SA were Tintagel House (Cape Town), 6 in the Circle (Hout Bay), Grootbos, Plateau Country House (Nature's Valley), Kirkman's Kamp (Kruger) and Plumwood Inn (Franschhoek). I would recommend eating at Belvidere Manor Hotel and 34 South if in the Knysna area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.7 mi away
Abalone Lodges
Abalone Lodges
#69 of 126 in Knysna
102 reviews
15.6 mi away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bamboo the Guesthouse
Bamboo the Guesthouse
#31 of 126 in Knysna
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
272 reviews
19.7 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
151 reviews
2.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon

Property: Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon
Address: 2km West of Knysna (off N2) | PO Box 767, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated right at the water's edge of the Knysna lagoon, Point Lodge is the perfect base for your Garden Route escape! Personally managed by the owners for ten years, Ryk & Amanda Cloete have a wealth of local knowledge to offer. This is the ideal place for you to relax in comfortable rooms, swim in the cool pool and enjoy a superb English breakfast overlooking the tranquil lagoon. Once experienced, you shall return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Point Lodge on the Water's Edge, Knysna Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing