We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Overmeer Guest House
Ranked #27 of 129 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in this beautiful guest house on Thursday evening. on a business trip and needed a comforatble night's rest. We got more than we have bargained for! The location is perfect with our luxury room overlooking the world renowned Knysna Lake. The bathroom is exaclty how we like it - spacious with a shower and jacuzzi bath. Clean,fresh and luxurious - these are the words tha come to mind. I read the few bad reviews prior to our visit - please get real! The dog is beautiful and no nuisance at all! And the drive way steep, yes, and your car should have good hand brakes in any case - that is law , I think, so what is the issue then? We also firn the staff and management helpful and friendly. We could not ask for more. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Insist on the luxury rooms with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

This place has the most beautiful view I have ever seen !! We enjoyed the terrace in front of our room to share a bottle of wine during sunset!! The rooms are perfectly clean and spacious. We stayed 4 nights there and would have liked to stay more! The GH is a few minutes away from Knysna but the view you get is worth the drive!
The staff was very nice and breakfast was great. I would recommand this place a thousand times !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

An enjoyable 3 days - Huge Rooms, Jacuzzi Baths, lovely views and big deck outside. Great Breakfast. Excellent wireless connection - thank you everybody.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms mean one can roll the luggage in but the second floor rooms are the same I think and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We had lagoon view rooms for 2 nights in Christmas week. Big gorgeous rooms with lovely views. We should have arrived earlier to enjoy sunset from the beautiful balcony. Keep in mind this is a little outside of Knysna town, you will need to drive back down the hills to get to town. As a guest house, serves breakfast only (but you can get pizza delivered if you arrive late as we did). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

When we booked our three nights at the Overmeer GuestHouse, we knew it was going to be nice, but we had no idea that our stay would exceed all expectations.Our room was very nicely decorated, spacious and clean. We had a huge terrace with a fantastic view over the lagoon and enjoyed the sunsets from there. The owners, Ludwig and Riette, but also their staff Rudolf are very friendly and helpful. It felt like we were in Knysna visiting friends.The neighbourhood is safe. If you're travelling by car, you won't need to worry about where to park, as the Overmeer offers enough car parks on their property. Unfortunately it was still too cold (early Spring in SA) for us to enjoy the pool. We're sure Guests will like it in the SA-Summer months. We made use of the laundry service, which was (a) very cheap and (b) very fast and (c) very good. We paid ZAR 100,- for a huge basket of laundry (you pay per basket). The basket size was about (height x width) 50cm x 50cm. Fast = you give the basket to the reception by 10am... you get your dry, ironed and folded laundry back on the same day in the afternoon. Knysna is a very lovely place. We enjoyed it a lot, especially the sunset over the lagoon. BUT, having said that we must admit that we "caught ourselves" looking forward to going back to the Overmeer to spend the rest of the evening on our terrace. This says a lot about the Overmeer GuestHouse. Thank you for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Located at the top of the hill, overlooking the Knysna Lagune with excellent views!
Spacious and luxury rooms. Friendly staff helping you with everything, including a shuttle service to the waterfront area in Knysna.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Comfortable rooms, tasty breakfast, beautiful lagoon views. Overmeer was just what we needed - quiet and peaceful. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.8 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Oyster B&B
Blue Oyster B&B
#19 of 129 in Knysna
308 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hope Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#20 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
3.6 mi away
Panorama Lodge
Panorama Lodge
#11 of 129 in Knysna
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Villa Guest House
South Villa Guest House
#6 of 129 in Knysna
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overmeer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overmeer Guest House

Address: 34 Meyer Street | Knysna Heights, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £48 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overmeer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on the hills overlooking the breathtaking Knysna estuary (Knysna lagoon) you will discover the heartfelt hospitality of Overmeer Guest House. Here luxury, comfort and the surrounding beauty are all carefully harmonized to create the ultimate venue for an unforgettable stay in Knysna - one of the most scenic places in the world. Apart from our luxury rooms we also cater for travellers on a budget and has a family suite to accommodate larger bookings. Contact us to make a reservation and let us assist you in creating fantastic memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Overmeer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing