We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna
Ranked #52 of 127 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We stayed here for two nights in September 2007, at the beginning of our Garden Route tour. Our hosts Simon & Cathy were wonderful, very welcoming – they even commiserated with us (for about a millisecond) after the Springboks beat the England team in the Rugby World Cup – England did not score a single point!!

A delightful and relaxing place to stay. The rooms are very clean and elegantly furnished in white and cream, very calming. Simon’s breakfasts are filling and a tasty way to start the day.

There is lots to do in the local area, we went to the Knysna Elephant Park – go early if you want to go on an Elephant walk. And a must is a visit to Noetzie, a beautiful beach down a bumpy stony road just outside Knysna on the way to Plett – it is unspoilt and beautiful and I suspect relatively quiet even in the height of summer due to it’s location, we had the beach to ourselves. Also try the local beer at Mitchells Brewery a five minute drive away.

And lastly, like many others who have stayed here we too went to Tides Restaurant for dinner – WOW – Michael’s a genius, the food looked and tasted wonderful, this restaurant is a real gem. A gastronomic delight.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2007

We have travled the world and this is one of the best "guest houses" that we have stayed in. Exceptionally clean, beautifull rooms, unbelievable breakfast and superb hosts. Highly recomend is a trip on Simons boat, and eating at Tides is recomended.

African Breeze is in a quiet location away from the town centre an just a 2 min walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SteveManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

The room itself was very good with high quality of furniture and bedding. However, it was too hot at night and without AC; the ceiling fan was set at very low speed and could not be increased. There was no outlook from any of the bedrooms - only onto the pool. 2006 summer prices have now increased from 400 Rand to 450 Rand per person which is too high for the non-lagoon view location. While we were there we checked out other guest houses on Leisure Isle and this was definitely too expensive. We would recommend Amanzi Island Lodge for virtually the same price but wonderful lagoon views and great rooms (we had a tour round) or somewhat dearer is Isola Bella Guest House. Oh yes, the breakfast - unless you insist otherwise you will receive a 'gourmet' cooked breakfast which consists of an egg (they decide if boiled, poached or scrambled) on other ingredients in a gourmet 'stacked' fashion. Perhaps it is this gourmet egg that justifies the high price of this establishment! Overall, Leisure Isle is a great choice when staying in the wonderful Knysna; and African Breeze would be fine if priced at, say, 350 Rand per person. But don't miss other options with a view. You may well like it - the rooms are fine and the hosts great. If you prefer the buzz of the harbour area in Knysna don't stay at the Protea Hotel(grossly overpriced) stay at the Knysna Quay Apartments - We paid about 300 Rand each for a wonderful apartment overlooking the harbour where the yachts come through - it was really fantastic value.

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank tomkat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2006

If Knysna is on your agenda, would really reccomend this option. It's on Leisure Isle - a really nice relaxed area on the water which is outside of the town - a much nice option that staying in Knysna itself if you have car.

The place is really nice, and Kathy and Simon will go out of their way to help organise things - they have canoes and can take you out on boat etc. The Breakfast specials are great too.

We were thrilled we opted for here rather than in the town itself - and there is a great restaurant TIDES 2 mins walk away - much better than the touristy options in town.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scullyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

Just returned from a South African mini tour - of which African Breeze was a big highlight.

Was a bit apprehensive, as UK guesthouses can be quite foreboding, but the African guesthouse experience was an absolute pleasure.

Simon, Cathy, Brooke and Daniel were all superstars, with nothing too much trouble, from Airport transfers, through getting us in and around Knysna at night, to providing a comprehensive tour service - and that's before we mention the warm hospitality, stunning breakfasts and the little extra's that you would never get at a "chain" or bigger hotel.

Here its all about the personal touch - even getting this poor husband out of trouble when he "accidently" led his wife into quicksand (an honest mistake) and her lovely shoes consigned to the bin.

Go for it and give yourself 3-4 days for the entire Knysna experience to settle you in. .

Relaxation guaranteed.

Paul,Deb and Grace
UK

(Try Rhino Base camp for a small safari, and the elephant park just out of Knysna is a delight too- oh and don't miss Natures Reserve)

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank elgoober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sabineund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
0.3 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#14 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Islander Knysna
The Islander Knysna
#29 of 127 in Knysna
65 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westhill Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isola Bella
Isola Bella
#62 of 127 in Knysna
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Knysna Belle
The Knysna Belle
#33 of 127 in Knysna
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leisure Isle Lodge
Leisure Isle Lodge
#16 of 127 in Knysna
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna

Address: 6 Bowden Park Street | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gracious home is the perfect base for travellers visiting the beautiful town of Knysna - Heart of the Garden Route in South Africa. Experience Leisure Isle lifestyle the African Breeze Guest House way! We invite you to explore the beauty of this exclusive island in contemporary accommodation and beautiful surroundings of the African Breeze Guesthouse. We offer all the latest amenities you would expect of a 5 Star guest house including DSTV and WIFI. All rooms provide en-suite bathrooms with separate entrances and views of the garden & swimming pool areas.Whether you have come to Knysna for a well-earned break, are sports or nature lovers or have come for a romantic weekend, you will find activities to suit everyone. For the energetic we provide bicycles to explore the island in a unique way. For the water lovers we are within 50 meters to the Knysna Lagoon... so convenient for bathing or exploring the lagoon on our canoe or you can just simply soak up the sun on a white sandy beach or around our lovely pool. Explore, eat and enjoy all that Knysna and the surrounding areas offer. Activities include whale and dolphin watching, hiking and mountain biking through the famous Knysna forests, fishing, sailing and diving, golfing at one of the many world class golf courses, day trips to various game and theme parks, bird watching and a lot more. Knysna also boasts an extensive choice of restaurants and is famous for its oysters and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your African Breeze Guesthouse Leisure Isle Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing