We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Garden Route, not just Knysna!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best on the Garden Route, not just Knysna!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Every time we return to Knysna we wonder if we should stay somewhere else but the location and the service are just exceptional at St James so we only consider for a second. For example, after we left my wife lost her glasses, she though she had left them behind. A quick email from the car and half an hour later the wonderful Sandy reports back that not only has she had the room checked but also in the garden and by the pool where my wife had been sunbathing, by the car and also the place we had stopped at for lunch after we left! Amazing but typical service. Oh and when my wife found them (in the car!) and we let Sandy know she seemed genuinely pleased whereas I would have been fed up for being led on a wild goose chase.

Room Tip: You must have a lagoon view, it's like being in a picture
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantwaitforspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    75
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
54
304
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at the St James and really enjoyed the piece and quiet. The suites are luxurious and spacious, great detail has been taken in the decor and we felt at home. The location is superb and right on the lagoon, with great views of the heads. I have stayed in various hotels in Knysna and found the St James to be the best of them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The St. James is the best located hotel in Knysna : with its own pier on the lagoon. "les pieds dans l'eau". We stayed in the Georges Rex suite which is gorgeous. Bad luck : we found some old food in the fridge.... Staff could be more helpfull in doing bookings. The manager is a perfectly helpfull lady which can not be said of her male assistant. Great service : the day after our arrival trough the Karoo we were happy to find our van had been cleaned. Food is very good. Service needs some more training to live up to the setting. Also the wifi service needs some upgrade as does the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Georges rex suite is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Lovely hotel (we were in the main house), with large well appointed room, colonial style main hall, library, dining room, bar etc, all in a beautiful setting on the bank of the Knysna lagoon.
Greeted well, and looked forward to a good dinner. The food was indeed superb, but unfortunately we had a waitress who was HOPELESS! (eg; q - what is the soup of the day? a - soup), got our food order wrong, our drinks order wrong and was generally sullen - there did not appear to be any real management presence although another waitress told us that our's was a trainee. Nearly spolit the meal and certainly ensured that we did not eat at the hotel on our second night. Also, the next morning housekeeping went into our room despite the "do not disturb" sign. To be fair when we expressed our concerns to the duty manager she was very apologetic and professional, and thereafter the staff did their best ot make amends with complimentary drinks and regular checks to ensure we had all we needed as we lounged by their (lovely) pool. Also noticed that on the day we left that our car had been cleaned - nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its setting, food, value for money and quality of rooms, and hopefully the management will ensure that any future trainee staff are adequately supported and supervised.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This truly is a five star country lodge. When we first heard the term "Country lodge" we were a bit worried, but the rooms and service were amazing. It was the small things that also made this place great, like the staff washing your car in the early morning, the receptionists helping you find things to do and booking and contacting to plan for your day. I wanted to do water skiing and sure enough by the end of breakfast I had a few names given to me and the rates. The food was fantastic, and coming from London, I have never had an english breakfast like the one served at ST James. The staff were friendly and I believe that because it was smaller than a hotel, it made it much more personal.

I reccomend this hotel to everyone I meet and will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We did not stay at the St James but went there for dinner. Unfortunately we were the only people in the restaurant, so there was not exactly a party vibe. Nevertheless, we had a great evening. The restaurant is quite formal and colonial in style, but very comfortable. The view over the lagoon is outstanding. The service was prompt, friendly and unobtrusive. The wine list was good and the food excellent. The menu is fairly traditional, but the dishes are contemporary interpretations of traditional themes. The portions are adequate and the food beautifully presented. The desert menu is limited, but the créme brûlée was really good. Definitely a place to back to,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Friendly staff, great dinner and a comfortable room makes this a recommended stop. All the ambience of a fine country inn. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a junior suite, a spacious room with pool view, because there was a problem with our original less-expensive room choice. Beds were comfortable enough, by South African standards. The view over the bay during breakfast was delightful. Free WiFi.
Ask for directions; the highway turn-off on the west side of town is not well marked.

Tip: Casual lunch at the Dry Dock, downtown on the waterfront, was a delight as we watched the sail boats and a water polo team practicing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aretiredtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Property: The St. James of Knysna
Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Family Hotel in Knysna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing