We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We cannot fault the stay at this place. We were up graded to the suites as it was quiet. The food was fantastic. In the evenings the fires in the bar and retaurant were lit, warm and cosy in the wintery weather. The views were fantastic with a lovely lunch on the patio by the pool. Fantastic, friendly staff. Top choice for knysna.

Room Tip: All looked lovely. We were lucky with the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    75
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
53
303
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent 3 blissful nights at this beautiful waterfront property in Knysna. It's a fabulous property with a heart of gold. It's just outside main town and overlooks famous Knysna Heads from other Ed of lagoon.

They care for their customers and it shows. When they were informed that we were vegetarian family and would like some more options for breakfast; they arranged for additional vegetarian dishes.

Nicest touch was washing of our cars daily, without anyone asking or telling them. Rooms themselves were spacious with very good amenities and lovely views.

Impressed, please keep up your excellent standards.

Room Tip: Lagoon view rooms on upper floor of the house are worth the upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guarangd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I had never paid so little for so much. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Upgraded me to a suite with view and direct access to the lagoon. Beautiful, huge room with lots of amenities. Delicious breakfast. They even washed my car every morning! Only downside was poor Wi-Fi service. Overall, a delightful stay. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the St. James. The hotel overlooks Knysna lagoon and is beautifully furnished throughout and our huge room (suite!) was amazing. The break fast was very good with hot food cooked to order. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My husband was amazed to find that our car had been washed each morning! We ate in the restaurant on one night when we found that the staff had set up a candlelit table for the two of us in the bar area with a roaring fire ( very much appreciated on a cold winter evening) and the food and wine were delicious. The hotel is just a little way out of Knysna but not a problem if have a car. I would like to visit again in the summer time to fully appreciate the beautiful setting especially in the evenings. I will be recommending this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volkswagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCELONA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Maybe because of what I had read abiut this property I expected more but to be honest I don't think it's 5 star hotel at all.
The reception area smells food all day long. The sheets had holes!!! In a 5 star hotel?.??? Can't believe it !
The common areas are good but the furniture and the style are a bit old fashioned and if you have a lovely lake in front of the hotel why would you put the furniture not facing the lake? Don't get it...
The lake and the outdoors area is wonderful specially in summer.
Would come back for the lovely landscape around it but some things should improve...
Hope it helps,

Room Tip: The ones with lake view definetly. When I went there were closed. The one I was in... Needs to be re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSER3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A 5 star hotel and fantastic. The food was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast looking out onto the lagoon. The suite was beautifully furnished and loved the gowns. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete & Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Reviews of this hotel undersell it to some extent, we found it better than expected. It could not be beaten for location if you are driving. Just minutes out of Knysa, the rooms overlook the lake and are vary spacious and well furnished and fresh flowers in the room added a nice touch. We stayed for dinner both nights and were not disappointed, interesting options and great presentation and choice. It was winter so we did get better rates but compared with other hotels along the Garden Route it stood up very well. Breakfast was a surprise, omelets, eggs benedict, full English, lots of choice and all included. This place was great value for money and the restaurant a nice surprise. Staff were helpful and friendly. We definitely recommend to those not wanting a 5 star expensive hotel, this one is a solid choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
802 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Property: The St. James of Knysna
Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Family Hotel in Knysna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing