We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Luxury on the lagoon. Spacious and luxurious accommodation complimented with fine dining. This is a perfect place to unwind en route to or from Cape Town, or better yet, to put one's feet up for a while longer and enjoy the serenity of the Knysna lagoon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the friendly, efficient check-in to similar check out the St James was a pleasure. A fine breakfast with the view towards the Heads over the lagoon and a daily newspaper to browse started the day. Dinner was fine dining, and with a good wine list. A nice range of whiskeys in the well-stocked bar/library. The spacious suite was excellent and well supplied with all the items and accessories for comfort. All round lovely service and attention to detail and needs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Its one of the classiest properties we gave stayed in. Located alongside the lake, painted white, with a lush green lawn - its just very beautiful. The rent is a steal compared to the quality of the property. The one thing we hated were the small old cabinet TVs in the rooms. I am sure the hotel will upgrade them in future.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joydeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We loved this place. Just off the main road as you enter Knysna.
We were allocated a suite from which we were able to lie in bed and look directly across our balcony to the lagoon and mountains beyond - stunning. The suite has a very spacious bathroom with double sinks, large shower plus bath.
A beautiful vase of fresh flowers had been placed in the room as a further welcoming touch.
A very comfortable lounge area separate. from the main bedroom, with sofa was also a plus point.
Every evening whilst at dinner, the room was prepared for us with ambient lighting, a bottle of cold water and a chocolate....all lovely touches.
Breakfast in the dining room was amazing with a good choice of buffet items, followed by a made to order cooked breakfast, and all this whilst admiring the local bird life just in front of us.
The gardens, whilst not extensive, are beautifully cared for and the huge coy carp (goldfish) in the small pond, are so tame that they will come and suck at your finger.
Complimentary canoes are available from the hotel jetty and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the shallower parts of the lagoon.
Swimming in the hotels main pool was wonderful, also with views out onto the lagoon and the gardens.
The staff were all very helpful.
All in all, a great experience and easily justifies my five star plus rating!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having left Hermanus behind us we headed off towards Knysna and the St James.
The route was extremely scenic, and once we had left the unfinished road behind us was very pleasant. In fact many of our county councils could take a tip or two on how to maintain roads.

As we came into Knysna we wondered how easy it would be to find the hotel, the answer, as per the adverts was simples.......

The hotel is on the outskirts of Kynsna, just as you come off the bridge on the right hand side and although it is so close to the main road once you are in the grounds you would never guess how close the road is, traffic noise is negligible and the surroundings are magnificent.

Even better almost the first words Del said to us when we went inside to register were "would you like a glass of champagne?" What better greeting could you ask for?

We had one of the courtyard rooms, did I say room? It was at least 50' long by about 20', one end of the room is set up as a sitting room complete with fireplace, not needed on our stay, armchairs, settee, mini bar, television etc

At the other end of the room was a dining table in case you wanted room service, and in the middle was the sleeping area with the bathroom off to the side.

Sliding doors led to the courtyard with its own swimming pool shared by the other residents. You have to bear in mind that this is only a small part of the grounds and there is a much bigger swimming pool in the main area.

The grounds themselves lead down to the lagoon and the views are amazing.

The first night we ate at the hotel and the food was good and the staff, as everywhere else we stayed, were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast the next morning was taken on the terrace at the front of the main building, looking out over the lagoon. There was a slight wait but this was due to the fact that the hot food is prepared for you when requested, and that is fine, you sit with your coffee and look out over the lagoon, paradise.

We were meeting friends who were staying in the area so were out the rest of the day and ate in Knysna that evening, after a sunset champagne cruise out into the Indian Ocean and then back into the lagoon. This was on a yacht and was the first time that week that they had been able to venture out of the lagoon, it was definitely an experience.........even my husband who never gets seasick was starting to feel queasy! However once we were back in the lagoon everything calmed down and the champagne and food came out. The sunset was amazing, thank you David and Lindsey for organising this part of the trip and for your company.

After dinner in Knysna we parted company with our friends and returned to the St James, one more wonderful breakfast and it was time for us to leave, hopefully to return on another occasion

Did I mention that our car was washed at each and every hotel we stayed at and the St James was no exception.

Thank you Del and staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: As far as we could see they were all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here 3 nights over a long weekend to celebrate my wedding anniversary. This is a wonderful boutique hotel on the banks of the Knysna lagoon. Very friendly service and quite a homely atmosphere. Quodos to the breakfast chef as well who can cook any type of egg very very well.

Room Tip: The suites face the lagoon and double rooms face the courtyard. I preferred the double room quite f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have been going to the StJame's at Kynsna for many years and have booked again for next year. The location is stunning as it is right on the lagoon. We usually stay in the Lady Anne suite which is very comfortable and traditionally furnished, although we have stayed in other rooms the Lady Anne is our favourite. We ate in the restaurant twice this year and both times it was very good although the menu does not change much from year to year. Personally I think the choice of starters could be improved upon. There were more diners this year which helped with the ambience but I would suggest they turn the background music up a bit if there are less. Although no too sure the choice of Xmas music was appropriate for March. The swimming pool is very nice and clean and when we were there it was also warm. The loungers and all of the outside seating area is very comfortable. The staff are always extremely helpful and courteous and nothing is usually too much bother. The housekeeping is excellent. Whilst at breakfast the bed is made and the rest of the housekeeping is done whilst you are out. Every evening the beds are turned down and a bottle of water and a chocolate is provided, this maybe a little old fashioned compared to other establishments but we like it. I agree with some of the other reviewers that some areas need updating re the pictures which are a little faded, but there is nothing that detracts from the comfort and the general hospitable feel of the place.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank F0xylady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
868 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
1.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
0.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#5 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £91 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing