We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. James of Knysna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for two nights. Was good. Beautiful grounds. Del was very helpful and friendly. The electric blankets were a nice touch. Only a couple of points I want to raise - After the first night's breakfast- there was a beautiful continental buffet display with cold meats etc. second morning there was almost none. I asked the waitress and she said its because we are only a few people at the establishment and does not qualify for the continental display. I found this strange!? I understand that food goes to waste in this case - but what about a small quantity selection? The DSTV bouquet is unacceptable. There was not one station I was interested in - hence no watching TV.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MediaManagerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    75
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
51
291
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotel is in front of Knysna' lake, thus the views from our room were amazing. Service was also a positive highlight during our stay, as well as the size of the room, enormous. Even the price was excellent, we leave the hotel without any negative comments, our stay was lovely.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best locations in Knysna, on the lagoon. Value for money indeed.

Rooms are spacious. Great service. Great breakfast.

Even washed my car. That is a first for me :)

Staff are very friendly. Will return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalilaleker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Many thanks to all at St. James of Knysna for making our stay so pleasurable. Beautiful setting, very friendly and attentive staff and superb food. We were given a room upgrade, which was an added bonus and topped off a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Super accommodation, booking from abroad can sometimes give rise for concern when you arrive in a country but no need when booking at St James. Everything was customer focused with wonderful location by the lagoon and even the hire car was washed, all part of the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gra26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

the hotel, I rated it very good, but when we check out, we stay 3 days short,
the hotel general manager, Ms. Cindy was not happy and she asked me to
talked with booking agent and the agent is no problem about we stay 3 days
short and hotel general manager want us to pay extra for my daughter. I paid. then the hotel covered the 3 days hotel from my child payment. When I book the hotel room, they did not charge for the children under 12 years old,
my daughter is 10 years old.



  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jianping D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calw, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a great stay in a very comfortable and service-minded guesthouse. The upgrated room was of a very large size with all comfort. The pool and the garden are really fantastic, the position directly on the watersite is great. The food-quality in the Restaurant was of a very high Level. The Management and the staff are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.9 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Property: The St. James of Knysna
Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Family Hotel in Knysna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing