We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic stay in beautiful hotel!”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

On arrival we passed two people who were checking out only to find we were the only people in the hotel for the next two nights. We were upgraded to one of the suites which looked out onto the lagoon which was an absolute knockout. Staff were very friendly and yes it is a little dated but this all adds to the charm, the breakfast was great. We used the pool one day and went down to the waterfront which is a short taxi ride away. Absolutely loved this hotel and a good base to explore Plettenberg and surrounding areas. Be warned if you're going to the forests (Diepwalle) - be prepared for a bumpy drive!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HozUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    75
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
52
300
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My partner and I spent 4 nights here in January. On arrival we were greeted by the manageress, who made us feel very welcome and recommended we upgraded our room with views over the lake. This was a beautiful room with exceptional views over the lagoon. The rooms are slightly old fashioned but this is in keeping with the hotel and part of the charm. The service was excellent, staff are very discreet but never far away if we needed them. As the hotel was quiet at this time we felt like we had the whole place to ourself which made our stay really special. The gardens are beautiful and very relaxing. Breakfast is fantastic! Overall we had a great stay there.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the St James Hotel in March 2009. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to Lake View Suites (approx £50 per night extra) and what an upgrade WOW!! We were shown to what were possibly the best rooms we have ever stayed in ever, anywhere. An enormous lounge with sofas, dining table and chairs. huge fireplace, etc, etc. thru to a dressing room and then the bedroom with floor to ceiling glass doors leading onto small terrace overlooking lagoon. The bathroom is without doubt the best we have experienced approx 15 feet with flag stone floor and brick walls with one wall being theb entire wall of the shower although it was just a curtain across. Step through the curtain into what seemed an open air shower. With one wall of glass doors with a small internal garden, hard to describe but amazing. Outside door to suite was a small courtyard with a swimming pool, it felt like our own private pool. Staff were friendly and helpful, Mike in particular was a really lovely guy. Highly recommended this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie27Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

we stayed in this hotel in nov as part of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. we were upgraded to the George Rex suite upon arrival which was a lovely surprise. the suite was massive with fabulous views over the lagoon. a complimentary bottle of bubbly was delivered to our room within ten minutes of us arriving there (although this seems to be the norm for most properties in SA!).
overall the service was second to none and we found the food in st. james delicious. The breakfast buffet was fab - huge variety of food. sitting on the veranda overlooking the lagoon on a beautiful SA morning was just out of this world.
the pool is small as pointed out by another post but most pools in SA are - even the top hotels have smallish pools by european standards. it didn't take from our visit to st. james at all. And yes, it's not the far off the N2 (about 500m) which didn't pose a problem for us - we never heard/saw any traffic - perhaps requrest a room overlooking the lagoon (at the back of the hotel - away from the road). if you get an opportunity to stay here grab it. we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We stayed in Lady Anne Suite and it was huge (usually we can't afford a suite so having a lounge and double balcony was a very pleasant suprise). Very good value with Knysna rates a lot lower than other places on our trips its a good place to splash out and chill out.

Nice touches were great - cleaning our hire car overnight, turndown while you were in the restaurant. even a uk adaptor in the room for us!

Clearly getting people to eat in the restaurant is important to them (evening food/service was fine although I preferred breakfast), so I would probably recommend they did promotions or inclusive "value" to encourage people to eat there.

Barman was very chatty and we liked him. Also view of lagoon was really nice an peaceful.

Pool didnt desperately appeal (but neither did most of the other pools). Stayed 4 nights manically going up and down the garden route but would have happily chilled out there for a week.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We would rate the St James of Knysna as far and away the worst 5 star hotel in which we have ever stayed.

Quite aside from our air-con problem and the way in which it was handled, of which more later, this hotel was a major let-down in several respects:
They claim two pools but both are small with uninviting looking green murky water - and the larger of the two had cleaning equipment in the bottom throughout our stay;
Breakfast cereals on the buffet were stale (although they were changed after we pointed this out);
The location is 50 metres from the N2 so if your room is on that side, as ours was, it is not a restful location. Indeed, our junior suite, room 8, is described on the website as “garden facing” – in fact, it faces onto a car park area, followed by some grass, and then the N2.
The traffic noise is also strong in the actual hotel garden and around the larger pool;
It is the type of hotel which puts style over substance – so, for example, the shower has individual gold hot and cold taps rather than the usual thermostatically controlled dial – so the water temperature fluctuates wildly when other residents use water whilst you shower.
Aerial photos of the hotel at Reception showed a rather attractive small building off to the side with a massive pool. How do we get to that pool? We cannot – that house and pool are the private residence of the owner of the hotel.

And now to that air-con problem. It was a hot mid-Summer day, in the low 30’s (around 90 in Fahrenheit) and we arrived about 5pm after a long drive. Shown to our ground floor room which had French doors but no windows. The room was extremely hot and stuffy so we turned on the air-con only to find that it made a noise but the flaps would not open so no air was pushed into the room at all. We went to Reception where the duty manager assured us that if we sat by the pool for the rest of the afternoon sun, he would ensure that the air-con was put right at once. Back in our room about 6.30pm to shower before dinner only to find no air-con. Back to Reception to talk with the duty manager, who accompanies us to our room. I couldn’t make it work, he tells us, but we’ll get maintenance tomorrow morning. After a long and difficult discussion in which we established that the hotel was full so no room swap was possible and that maintenance had gone home, we suggested that we would go and knock on the owners’ door. That threat achieved a visit to our room quite promptly from the resident general manager of the hotel. He arranged for the air-con company to come over within the half-hour. We waited for them to assess the problem and on assurance that they would get our air-con working, we went off very belatedly to our restaurant booking in town. We came back to find that the emergency fix had been to remove the flaps entirely so we had cold air although we couldn’t direct it and the unit was somewhat unsightly. Despite our request to Reception, the following morning, to get the job finished, the unit remained that way for the rest of our stay. So….ok….it was unlucky to find a broken air-con unit and that won’t often happen to guests….but, the way it was handled was astonishingly poor and not to be expected from any hotel which cares about its guests, never mind a 5 star place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Tiny + Nel Romviel
the Netherlands
01-02-2009

We stayed in St.James again, now for 2 nights in january 2009. Earlier was in january 2007.
Weknew what we can expected in St. James. Never the less it was very, very beautifull stay there again. The (superior) room was even bigger than the last time, we we were in St. James. My guess is 60 m2, with a sitting part en a sleeping part. The room had also a balcony where we had a view on the lagoon. Very quiet and beautiful.
The facilities in St. James are complete. St. James earns the 5 stars they have now. De reception and other staff of this hotel is very helpfull en kind for the quests.
The diners are superior. De prices reasonable. The breakfast is luxerous en tasteful.
We recommaned St. James tot everyone.

  • Liked — The entourage in and around this hotel
  • Disliked — i can't telll
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tiny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Property: The St. James of Knysna
Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Family Hotel in Knysna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing