We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. James of Knysna

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Our family had an excellent stay in this hotel. At first the location concerned us as there are major road works outside of the hotel but we heard nothing from our rooms and we can see that future guests will benefit from the improvements to the road system, not least in getting into the town.

The entire staff at this hotel were welcoming – they were confident and relaxed in ways we didn’t experience in all hotels on our South Africa trip. The suites were excellent, very spacious, lovely views over the lake and as with other guests we were upgraded. All the family – teenagers included – enjoyed the rooms and previous comments about them being out-dated really didn’t resonate with any of us. The welcome tray was enjoyed, the laptop in reception much used as were the canoes, which are freely available. The views really are great and much appreciated by our party.

The food was absolutely fine. Breakfasts were more than adequate, the service impeccable and the one night we had dinner in the hotel was fine for us all, vegetarian and non-vegetarian included.

Thoroughly recommend for all ages groups and congratulations to the management for running such a welcoming and happy hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    75
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
51
291
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Having read the rave reviews before our holiday we decided to stay here. We were disappointed that intially we were shown to the musty mausoleum in the garden-a no no for any one with respiratory problems. Having objected to this accommodation we were shown 2 rooms in the house [why we were not offered one of these rooms initially I do not know] The evening meal was also poor I would describe it as ready to go shop food,but at least there is a great fish restaurant in Knysna called The Anchorage.Breakfast was also average with blandy tasting fruit. My advice to this establishment is employ an efficent manager and employ a top chef and then I will return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Like a previous reviewer, when we were here, in the offseason, there were few other patrons, and we were upgraded to a suite. I have to say this was truly one of the great bargains considering the quality of the accomodations, and the breakfasts for the price we paid. The staff was extremely helpful (particularly Hein). Would love to get back sometime in the summer, and really make the most of it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willgetby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

The staff were really nice, breakfast was great . The rooms spacious almost like apartments in size. fabulous views and the gardens very well maintained. The only downside is the distance to town. If you go backwards and forwards in a cab its pricey.

The only other comment and perhaps its something that they cannot control, but there was a serious smell of damp in the air. They air the place regularly but it lingers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

The St. James is set on in a gorgeous location overlooking the Knysna Lagoon. Our room opened up onto a patio next to the lagoon - and was the best place to sip a glass of wine and watch the sunset. The rooms were large and comfortable, and the social areas of the hotel are nicely decorated and welcoming. The pool area is also very nice and the landscaped gardens made it a pleasant place to sit and take in the sun.

The restaurant, although a little pricey, served delicious food with gorgeous views!

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kama0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

Like many other reviewers, we too got upgraded on arrival to a suite - we couldn't help but feel this was only because we were literally the only people staying at the hotel! The room was spacious and had everything you could need but it was like walking into the 80s! Compared to other hotels in this price range we stayed on honeymoon, it was a a let down. On the plus side, the service was good and rooms were clean. Oh & the housekeeping staff walked into our room without knocking which was a shock as we could have been getting changed.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonnie_lassie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Words are really not enough to describe this hotel - just amazing. A large spacious suite overlooking the lagoon in a hotel of real pleasure and delight. Originally booked for two nights and stayed for three and in reality wanted to stay longer. Supurb location yet just minutes from the Waterfront and just off the N2. The bathroom and the shower is hard to describe but daylight and a garden in view yet private. A seperate large lounge on the ground floor leading to a dressing area and then an equally large bedroom - views from rooms of the lagoon and the gardens. A true 5 star country house hotel and despite travelling all over the world - the best so far.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKHemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.7 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.9 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.6 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.3 mi away
Kanonkop Guest House
Kanonkop Guest House
#2 of 30 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Property: The St. James of Knysna
Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Family Hotel in Knysna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing