We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. James of Knysna
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed for one night and wished we could have stayed longer.

On arrival (earlier than the normal check in time) we were welcomed by very friendly staff and offered a glass of champagne while we waited for our room. We were upgraded to a fantastic, spacious suite with a view over the lagoon.

The hotel is very relaxed and the staff are attentive without being overly so.

The only criticism I have is that the food wasn't quite up to the standard I would have expected but this didn't spoil our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Bumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2009

Our second trip to Knysna, last time we stayed at Pezula but ST James is ten times better, great rooms overlooking the Lagoon, friendly staff and great food in the restaurant - real value for money a pleasure to stay and to look forward to return to, only 5 mins from the town and they even offer a trnafer to restauants in the town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Upon checking in, my sister and I were informed that we'd been upgraded to the "Rex Rooms" (presidential suite). It was lovely, spacious, with marble bathroom, long balcony overlooking the lagoon, large flat screen TV, and sitting room. The view was fabulous. The dining room had a fireplace, which was really nice since it was cold weather, and the food was fantastic. We enjoyed a pasta entree with spinach, bacon and grilled Camembert cheese, so much that we both ordered it again. The wines were excellent and they do pour a generous glass. Staff were very helpful in booking our day trips to Knysna Elephant Park and Plettenberg Bay whale watching cruise and Featherbed Island Eco-cruise (all highly recommended). The only thing that could have made our stay even better, was if it had been warmer weather, so we could swim in the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SparkleAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

This is a well-appointed property, nicely located at the edge of the lagoon with views to Knysna and The Heads.
There is a range of rooms/ suites available, many very large. We had an extremely comfortable 3-day stay.
The restaurant is very good, with interesting dishes, well prepared and presented, and reasonably priced. Service is friendly but can occasionally be a bit slow - the bottleneck would appear to be the kitchen, even at breakfast time. There is a good bar.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We are a couple of early UK retirees liking to travel and stay in unostentatious interesting luxury and when we arrived at St James the television in the bar was blaring out a football match which seemed rather at odds with its luxury image. However, we were upgraded to their best suite which was indeed huge, marvellous and with wonderful views over the lagoon. Reception staff were very helpful and although the restaurant and lounge lacked any sort of atmosphere the food was good and, depending on the waiter, service could be excellent. There is a nice garden and a good sized, albeit unheated, pool as seems to be the norm in this part of the world. As far as we could see, only UK holidaymakers go here which, depending on your perspective, will either be a good or bad thing.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Very friendly but professional staff who all seemed to know your name.
Our (basic) suite was very spacious and comfortable. The gardens are beautiful and we are only sorry that the weather was very wet when we stayed there and we unable to enjoy sitting out by the lagoon. We had a relaxing day reading in the comfortable lounge and made use of the computer provided for guests.
We had a meal in the restaurant which was very good and excellent value for money. The breakfasts are wonderful, don't miss out on the Eggs Benedict.
All in a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

My sister and I stayed here and they upgraded us to the unbelievable Presidential Suite. We didn't know why and we didn't ask! The room had beautiful views of the lagoon and the property and was exceptionally well appointed and comfortable with a large, gorgeous white marble bathroom. The staff was exceedingly helpful with our every request and helped us plan our few days in the area to make the best use of our time. Their follow-up was impeccable. The restaurant produces truly amazing dinners! Breakfast is excellent too with hot and cold selections but dinner was drool-worthy! Oddly our favorite was their spinach pasta dish. Try it and you'll know why! It's a little hard to find this place from the road and when we went it was behind some road construction but that didn't matter as you didn't see or hear it while at the property. If you go in to Knysna you went too far and need to ask directions or call.

Stayed: September 2009
1  Thank KayMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
4.6 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
842 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.9 mi away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
4.2 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#21 of 30 in Knysna
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James of Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James of Knysna

Address: The Point, Eastford, Knysna, 6570 | P.O. Box 1242, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Knysna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
#7 Family Hotel in Knysna
Price Range: £104 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. James of Knysna 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The St. James of Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. James Of Knysna Hotel Knysna
The St James Knysna
St James Knysna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing