We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amanzi Island Lodge
Ranked #8 of 126 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still amazing”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have stayed at Amanzi a number of times before when the previous owners Simon and Cathy were there. It was always excellent and they were great hosts. I did wonder what it would be like this time and I am pleased to report that the new management are equally brilliant. They were very helpful on restaurant recommendations and did everything to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. Particular thanks to Alison for booking Senza! Breakfast was very good - lots of variety and everything is very well done. Room very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    52
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
376
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Amanzi island lodge in december in the lagoon facing room for 2 night
It was all like a dream. I would recommend to do. With a spectacular view of the lagoon can be seen fully. The hotel owner and staff are very helpful. thank you for everything..

Room Tip: I would advise you to choose from lagoon view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emrah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent two nights in a superior lagoon facing room..stunning views of the lagoon and knysna heads. Perfect get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Breakfast was of a high standard. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend Amanzi lodge to couples wanting to spend some quality time together. My only recommendation is that they place bar fridges in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bakhtiaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very homely and nice place to stay. Staff very helpful and feels like home. Amazing place to chill out. I was with my six year old son and they have kept arrangements for little kids as well,Board games etc. we arrived very late in nite but we were welcomed warmly by future. He was amazing with my son. He gave us some time to settle meanwhile he was taking care of my son and was playing with him. Was really impressed by him. Surely recommendable. Also y to get lagoon view room. That's the best part of this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get lagoon view room. Amazing view from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truptikhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Amanzi Island Lounge is set at the south end of Leisure Island - you walk along the road a little more and you have a great view of the Knysna heads.
We went there in November 2011 - and it rained. Not just a drizzle, but according to some locals the worst rains South Africa had seen in years. But that wasn't the problem - the real challenge was leaving those comfy beds in our spacious rooms (not in a naughty way, we just found them really comfortable. Plus, we were tired. And on holiday - don't judge us...).
The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was delicious and the Honesty Bar was very well stocked and reasonably priced.
If you stay there, I recommend a trip to Monkeyland an Birds of Eden (just follow the N2 in direction to Port Elizabeth). It was well worth the trip and it even stopped raining while we were there.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe garden suite, very quiet and high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moritz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were only booked in for one night, but it was so well positioned with such pleasant staff that we wanted to stay two more nights. They were heavily booked but took great trouble to switch things around and made our holiday perfect. Even the seals co-operated by swimming past at breakfast . Great views, lovely pool and ideal for town or restaurants. If my wife could paddle better we might have tried kayaking. A rigid inflatable would be even more fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petefd f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Simply fantastic hotel with sumptuous rooms - ours overlooked the lagoon. Perfect location in a superb part of SA. We were sorry to leave not least because the staff were incredibly helpful.
Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilbertoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knysna hotels
3.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
1.5 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
3.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
7.8 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#2 of 126 in Knysna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzi Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Island Lodge

Property: Amanzi Island Lodge
Address: 31 Cearn Drive | Leisure Isle, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amanzi Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Knysna Lagoon you'll find Amanzi Island Lodge, a tranquil beach house on Leisure Isle, with spectacular views of the Knysna Heads and Featherbed Nature Reserve. Spacious bedrooms open out onto a balcony either overlooking the lagoon or our private garden. Amanzi has a breakfast room opening onto the main terrace. Guests can enjoy an english breakfast while admiring the breathtaking view. Later, relax by the secluded swimming pool or sit on our terrace overlooking the lagoon and indulge in a sundowner. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks available at the guest house can be used for scenic trips around Leisure Isle.Our sunny and spacious rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite TV. The bathrooms have under floor heating and complimentary Charlotte Rhys luxury products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amanzi Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing